The type of graffiti that truly pisses me off

in #vietnam6 months ago

I have mentioned before that I am a big fan of street art. I think that it is some of the best in the world. Not that long ago I took a trip to New York City and visited the Museum of Modern Art and was just disgusted by what that city or at least the owners of the actual museum consider "art" to be. Most of it was just garbage and I can't believe that it is admired by anyone. One of the worst ones were these 3 side-by-side canvases that appeared to not be painted at all. They looked blank.... they might have been blank... yet the museum thought this was something that needed to be put in the main hall. I kept expecting something to happen like it be only visible under blacklight so I asked someone who worked there and they said that no, there is no secret, that is simply the art. That's some grade A bullshit if you ask me.

I enjoy street art because the people who make this never get paid for it. Most of them do so with anonymity and others never even get credit for what they have done. However, as I have said many times before there is a HUGE difference between street art and vandalism. I encountered this on a walk I took the other day and even though I don't own the property, it made my blood boil.


image.png

This is someone's home. I don't know their economic situation but it was a rather modest home and I think in a lot of those situation that the people who bought it could probably barely afford it. The last thing they need are some assholes to come by and quickly ruin their property and give them another job that they have to do in order to clean it up.

The street art that I appreciate in this city is done on buildings that are slated to be torn down anyway, or plots of land with temporary fencing around a construction site. This sheet metal is going to be torn down at some point anyway so even if the people are "caught" in the act they normally aren't punished. They aren't really harming anyone or destroying property plus a lot of the artists are actually quite talented. Some of the areas near my condo have turned into street art parks of sorts and newer and better stuff gets put up there on a regular basis. People will tag this area without fear of being punished and this just pushes the quality of their work to another level.

Regardless of how nice the street art is though, if a person doesn't have permission to do it and they do not own the property, I loathe the fact that someone would do this to another person's property without their permission.

I hope that whoever Dinh is gets caught and severely punished for this. The first stage of his or her punishment should be being forced to repaint this garage door and pay for it out of their own pocket. If you are one of the people out there that does dumb shit like that just know that I, and basically everyone else on earth, thinks you are scum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18