Heavy rains and the garbage aftermath

in #vietnamlast year

I have maintained for a while now that Da Nang's cleanliness is just for show. This is actually a very polluted part of the world and waste management is done very poorly. I understand that this is not a rich part of the world but honestly, the level of littering and how little doing such a thing is frowned upon (people don't even pay attention to it) is a big part of the reason why the problem stays the way it is. If you just go to a piece of land and dump a bunch of garbage on it nobody is even going to day anything to you. There are plastic bags and other garbage just lying all over the place.

The city hires people to come around in the middle of the night to carry all this trash away in the high-profile tourist areas where the hotels are, but in other areas where tourists are unlikely to go it is basically just covered in garbage that nobody ever does anything about. I don't know what the solution is, but what they are doing now is not it!

This problem becomes more evident after a prolonged rain because the "trash rivers" find their ways to the beach areas that are the only places the city keeps clean to maintain the impression of environmentalism.


image.png

When a prolonged rain occurs, the drainage in this area actually backs up into the very pipes that are meant to take the flooding elsewhere. Obviously this was done ineffectively and now any time there is a certain level of rainfall, certain parts of the city get flooded. I would imagine that most of these pipes simply lead to the ocean and after the rain stops you can see what the end result of it is since the sewerage here has basically nothing in the way of water treatment or filtration.


image.png

This is just a tiny piece of the ocean area near my house but it was like this the entire way down. I actually enjoy coming down here to walk in the rain because I have many pairs of shoes and I don't mind getting them wet. I also enjoy not having a bunch of people around while I am doing it. The result is always the same though, as the rain subsides we are left with a bunch of garbage that washed back in, presumably from the drain spouts that are well out in the ocean.


image.png

I guess it is a good thing that the tide helps to put all the garbage in that one place so that their sand-combing tractor can come and pick it all up. I guess this is better than the nothing that is being done elsewhere in the world but it does bring up some concern to me in that if this is just the stuff that washes back in, how much of it DOES NOT wash back in and just floats to the great garbage patch in the sea?

I guess this is just what kind of happens when you have too many people in one area and don't have a sufficient waste-management program in place. Perhaps I should be thankful that they actually want to maintain appearances where I happen to live because I know of other places nearby where tourists do not go and those places are just covered in garbage at all times. I should go and get some pictures of those sorts of places. It might frighten the uninitiated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87