Holiday in Vietnam, Nha Trang!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #vietnam8 years ago

Hi!

This is me, Leo, I'm a Bitcoin, blockchain and Monero advocate!

Vietnam is noisy!

The whir of scooter and motorbike engines mixed with a symphony of horns made the whole experience stressful. Miraculously though, I didn't see a single accident.

This keyboard is really awesome! Works with my iPhone.

I intend to do most writing using my iPhone and this Bluetooth keyboard I just bought now.

I had a long break from Steemit (maybe longer than 3 months!) Why? I did not have much to say. But after reflecting on this the last few weeks I thought I'd put this out there - at least a place I can show my family and friends.

I'm going to start writing more about crypto investments in upcoming posts so please follow me if you'd be interested in that!

My wife and I just started traveling again after living in Taiwan for 2 years so I thought I'd share this experience! We will be back in Taiwan In mid-January.

Now we are in Nha Trang but a few days ago we were in Saigon, Ho Chi Minh city - the south of Vietnam.


We visited the two Bitcoin ATMs in Saigon and used the one in the Italian restaurant twice. The fees were comparatively much higher than converting US dollars at the bank but I'm happy to support the local Bitcoin industry here and I'm sure once they cover the cost of the machine they will become cheaper over time.

Here's a pic of the Bitcoin bar:

Here is the guy who hustled us $5 for two coconuts:

(We got hustled after this photo and giving us coconuts - he wanted ~$8 I just gave him $5 and it really made his day!)

If you go to the Bitcoin bar in Saigon, there's a nice restaurant away from all the noise called Bun Cha 145 - though half way through some awful karaoke started and ruined the atmosphere.

In Nha Trang a nice cafe called Flamenco with traditional Vietnamese coffee (and cheap too!):


Random and interesting street things:


Back in Saigon:


A pho restaurant - when I went to the toilet, the door leading back to the restaurant had no handle - I had to wait for a staff lady to open the door to go back:

Sort:  

Looks, like tons of fun. The local food looks amazing, any suggestions for a meal to try?

Pho and baguettes are great!

Good tips about Vietnam. I’m going there in another 2 weeks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49