How to be miserable!

in #videoshare7 years ago

CGP Grey has a brilliant new video about "7 ways to maximize misery". It is an adaptation of Randy J. Paterson's book "How to Be Miserable: 40 Strategies You Already Use" - one I'll certainly be picking up now.

I have a general disdain for "self-help" or positivity/optimism type material. However, this is exactly the right way to approach the topic - both relevant and witty. It's also relevant to modern life.

Special mention for Grey's animation - there's a lot of intricate little details that relate to popular culture and history, all sharp and provocative. I'd definitely recommend watching this multiple times.

Sort:  

Yes CGP grey is great. I have yet to start a patreon account, but they will be the first I sign up for when I get one. One thing I started doing that has helped on being overwhelmed, just do something for 5 minutes. Instead of talking yourself out of something completely. You can do a lot in 5 minutes if you know that all the time your giving.

While it's mentioned in the video, this approach of instructing the viewer what steps to take towards what one would normally wish to avoid is quite interesting, being much more impactful than just stating what would improve the situation. The style helps to identify what could be improved upon by phrasing it in such a manner that it gives one an uncanny feeling if they are doing anything the video addresses. It's essentially saying "you're doing great, keep it up!" towards an undesirable end result, which leaves us more uncomfortable than conventional advice-giving methods.

I really enjoy CGP Grey's videos, and though certainly have a long production time, they're well worth the wait.

I agree, it's a more refreshing way of stating a known issue. I find it curious that such an approach always has more of an impact. On a related note, I also much prefer satire versus straight issue-based dramas.

Grey has really slowed down of late, but I'm sure he's working on something.

Nice, I particularly like becoming a human pile of laundry :-) It's good old fashioned reverse psychology; works every time!

Cg

It's quite creative, humams always tend to do what they are told not to do.


Giving Instructions about basic good habits might not have made a huge impact on anyone who watched this 7 minutes video as It did with telling how to make our life miserable by letting us not to do anything.

If we don't do anything towrds making our life healthier and happier we all do all the 7 things told in this video.


I will start with waking up on time from tomorrow.

is it posible that i can get even more miserable than what I'm right now ?

  • I'm undocumented
  • My family hates me
  • Life sucks
  • Can't get pennies in steemit posts
    Shoot me !!

Like your posts man. Follow

awesome. Listening to it, as I write this comment. Thank you for sharing this kind of stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66804.20
ETH 2581.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66