You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am an Optimistic Nihilist

in #videoshare7 years ago

Great read/watch to start the day! I've always fancied myself a stoic, a concept which I think blends nicely with optimistic nihilism. People devote so much time to pondering the imponderable, and not enough time focusing on two heavy little words in this video: "so what?"
-We come from nothing and we will return to nothing. So what?
-Everything is meaningless. So what?
-We're just brains in vats. So what?

For me, the answer to "so what?" is usually "keep going!" (borrowed from Badiou). I might add "leave the place better than you found it" and some form of the Golden Rule/Categorical Imperative.

In other words, even though life is meaningless, I'm still looking forward to reading more of your posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38