Why so many videos?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #videos7 years ago

I don't know if you've noticed but lately a good percentage of posts are just videos or a link to some other page. I think if you post a video at least give a good explanation of what it's about and why I should see it, I mean I've seen videos posted that are over one hour long, who has the time to watch that? And just posting a link to an article isn't so great either, if I'm interested in a subject and all you do is post a link, I'm better off Googling it, and probably get better information.

I like to read content, opinion etc that way I can comment on it but if it's a Youtube video I might as well go comment about it on Youtube where at least I have an opportunity to have the original producer of the video answer me.

Maybe I'm just cranky but I really think people should put more effort into what they post.

Sort:  

When i create a youtube video, i like to post about it here. I usually put effort into a post though as well so people get both value from my post as well as the vid.

If you don't like what people do, don't up vote it.

It's not personal, in fact I don't think I have seen much of your posts, but you are just doing what I said I would like people to do, explain what the video is about, and of course I don't upvote a post which is just a video, I like to read something too.

if you check out some of my post i'd be curious if you like the way I do it or if you would have some feedback to improve.

I just looked at a few of your posts I'd say they are ok, Look I think what I look for is people who write original material or give good input on material that is out there, or maybe even just a drawing, I mostly like to comment, agreeing or disagreeing with the author's views, what I don't do is flag, somehow I find that as trying to feel superior to someone, that's why I posted this about videos, I want to let people know what I think without actually doing something that could be seen as negative, see I put no names just my opinion, I know everyone here is trying to make some money, even if some of us say it's because we like to write, money is always good, I just don't like it when someone is so lazy he or she just thinks of putting a link or a copied video from You tube. I am not a good writer but I do try my best to post good content, maybe it's just mediocre but at least I try my best.

Completely right. However people do what the want. Should we flag them away?

I think a down vote might be more appropriate than flagging, but Steemit does not differentiate between these two important and different aspects of curation.

Frankly I don't agree with flagging, I do think posting just a video from Youtube is lazy but I'm not really into flagging.

Well you got me there, some videos are funny, this one is just too short to have an opinion about how funny it really is, I used to watch that show in the 60's when I was a kid. I guess you are trying to make a point, and maybe it is valid, but look I like George Carlin's videos, I think they are really funny, but I would not post one of them here just to try to make a few cents, I watch them on Youtube.

Well, surprise surprise surprise, you haven't discovered anything new.

I occasionally post a video but if I do it's because it is one I uploaded and/or it's something I add significant commentary to.

Yes, I agree a video can be a nice visual addition to what you want to express.

If I add a video, I try to structure an quality post around it. Otherwise it does feel way to spammy!
Btw I followed you :)

Yes, I think that's the way it should be done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79