Filming Cars - How I Lost My Trust in Regular Drivers

in #videography8 years ago (edited)

Recently I filmed a drifting competition organised by BMW fans. It took place in Swaffham Race Way, Norfolk. It's a nice place, there's nothing around it but grass, the pigs and sheep. It feels like a genuine countryside. And smells like it too. :-)

This raceway was used by the club before and it is not the first time I was there. I remember my first time there as if it was yesterday. It was scary because there I was, thinking of what angles would be best thinking that safety is the priority, I knew no one and nobody knew me. It was a bit frustrating! But there was a photographer. And do you remember I mentioned in my previous post that getting to know photographers is a big advantage? So yes, I got to know Tom. He loves driving himself and he has been with the club for many years already. He gave me a high-visibility west, told me where not to stand if I wanna live. :-) So that was a big help.

The photo above is a screenshot of a clip, where the winner of the competition drifted around me. That little person in blue jeans and a vest is me! I must confess, it was terrifying and I don't recall doing anything more terrifying that this. Well, I didn't do much, the driver did the most! I just had to stay where I was. After the driving was over my hands started to shake - I guess that was the side effect of a massive dose of adrenalin.

After the event, I noticed another side effect - I was coughing non-stop. I thought I caught a cold as it was a long windy day. I felt ill for a week and then it stopped. Then I had a meeting with Tom, the photographer. And he revealed that after the same event, he spent the night at the hospital!!! He had an asthma attack. I came to the conclusion, that it was the fault of the smoke and burning tyres. I learnt a lesson - next time I'm taking a mask and have regular breaks!

It took me a long while to edit the video. It always does and I am hoping to become a really fast editor in next few years. The first thing I did was finding the music. I like to edit this type of events to music and not the opposite. I know the guys like trap, therefore I visited my beloved channel on Youtube called TrapCity. That's where I look for some inspiration. In the end of the process and long hours of selecting and cutting, I finished the video, which people really enjoyed! The client approved it when he first saw it and I can't be any happier! Participants liked it too so I am just really really pleased. My life is complete! For a little while. :-)

And speaking of the title of this blog, I did lose trust in regular drivers because I now think that you can become a good driver only if you had situations when you were about to crash into a wall. Or if your tyre fell off. That's when you learn the lessons which can help to avoid car accidents and injuries.

There's one more thing, slightly off-topic. I have this fear that I will stop writing! I noticed so many users who wrote so much at the start but then stopped. It seems like a common practice, isn't it? Guys and girls, please continue writing, let's avoid this decrease in content! :-) Let's take a pill of enthusiasm!

And for now, I am going to charge some batteries for tomorrow shoot, its gonna be a wedding. Will let you know how that goes! Always very dramatic.

All the best,

Greta

P.S. I have no intentions in advertising my work. Again, I'm trying to stay as neutral as possible. If you're sincerely interested in it, let me know, I then could share some of the things I am proud of. :-)

Sort:  

Wow, that is crazy it really hard to trust someone like that.

But I do! These guys, not the crazy street drivers are the ones who really know their cars and how they behave in different/dangerous situations. Almost all of the participants of this competition work in garages, they assemble engines and know the tech. :-) That's why I trusted them. :-)

I'm sure they are awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55