Need for Speed - The game that fueled the teenage racing years

in #videogames6 years ago

Hey Steemians and fellow gamers alike! If you have followed me, you will have seen some of my recent posts where I muse about the games I played in my childhood days and how they have shaped and molded my influences today. Many a game have I played over my childhood, and some of them are all time classics.

As a young boy entering my teenage years, the sense of speed and racing enthralled me. Of course, I could not do that legally, so video games were my next solution. Those days, Need For Speed was the rage. The name appealed to me. The game that got me started on to the series was NFS2 in my earlier days, but the game that made me hooked on to NFS was Hot Pursuit 2. I've already spoken with great fondness about this game and how amazing it felt to drive exotic cars through beautifully designed locations. While that is a game that is truly one of a kind for me, the NFS Underground series added the thrill of illicit street racing.

wallpaper-2900762.jpg

NFS underground introduced concepts of modifying cars, performance, looks and otherwise. The range of customization was something any young boy with an affinity for cars and racing would drool over. The graphics were a hit for those days, and they still look reasonably good even to this day.

Many a long hours have I spent pimping cars and driving them around, and listening to underground rock, grunge metal and such genres of songs from the ingame music selection. I have to admit that video games have influenced my music tastes and continue to do so to this day. NFS Underground was one of the starts, but UG2 (Underground 2) was definitely the major influence.

"Riders on the Storm" by the Doors ft. Snoop Dog was the music that came over the speakers as NFS UG2 loaded and that song had me glued to the game. I listen to it even this day...

"Need for Speed, I am trying to take the lead,
Hold on little homey
before you run into the trees,
I've seen things I would have never saw before..."

A truly open world, hours of just driving around and discovering new places, shops etc was just way to fun. And of course, the downhill drifts were my favorites. Outrageous scores could be made and it was addictive to see those numbers jack up with each slide of the car. And of course, there is one more thing that NFS UG2 stands out for me...

The girls in game were enough to set a 13 year old all fired up. Those were the days! ;)

NFS UG and UG2 were amazing games, and they have been a major part of my growing up years. (I played UG and UG2 for a combined 2.5 years or so).


Need-For-Speed-Most-Wanted-04-HD.png

And then, there came Need for Speed: Most Wanted.

illicit street racing, crazy police chases, fast cars and furious racing; Hot girls, wronged racer - all made for a great storyline. And the graphics were drop dead gorgeous. It was a treat, and it was back to daylight racing. The city of Rockport looked so real, and I liked the graphic treatment. Being a racer who has been wronged and working back into the blacklist appealed to me pride and I raced fast and furious. Some of the most special cars for me include the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIII, the Lambarghini Gallardo of Ming, and the Porsche Carrera GT.

913522-34.jpg

Causing havoc, the thrill of police chases and the high heat levels were all carzy addictive and make for great racing even now. I played Most Wanted well into my class 12 days. We would have tournaments between friends over the LAN and race

Most Wanted is probably one of the best games that has come out of the NFS series. I am sure there are other opinions as well, and I would like to see them in the comments below! Tell me what you think!

There are other NFS games as well, but I will leave them for another post.


If you liked this post, Please upvote, resteem and comment. you may want to check out some of my other stories on my blog via the links below.

The games that have stayed with me today - Age of Empires and London Racer

Remembering the video games of my childhood - Need For Speed, Roadrash, Smackdown and more!

Blockchain for Dummies - A starters guide to understand the blockchain


That's all for now. Cheers!

Signature.png

batmanbikerlogo.png

Image Sources:

Image 1

Image 2

Image 3

image 4

Image 5

Sort:  

You got a 1.10% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @thebatmanbiker!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 15.15 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @thebatmanbiker

Congratulations @thebatmanbiker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43