Super Mario Odyssey Review

in #videogame6 years ago

Super Mario Odyssey was a really fun game to play. It opens with a great cut-scene where Mario is defeated by Bowser. As Mario falls to his doom and his hat is ripped to shreds, Bowser flies off with Princess Peach. When Mario wakes up he finds himself in a new world and meets an new friend, Cappy. Together they set off to save those who are dear to them.

The dialog is fun and includes Peach, Bowser, Mario, and Cappy emojis. This is nice for a younger audience that might not be very familiar with reading. Often the gist of a conversation could be determined with the emojis.

One of the funnest parts of the game is the ability that Cappy gives Mario to control enemies, friendlies, and environmental objects. Making towers of goombas and flying around as bullet bill was pretty fun, but one of the most delightful things in the game was throwing Cappy onto a T-Rex and demolishing everything in my wake. The once feared chain chomps became measly little ants under the feet and claws of the mighty T-Rex.

The one thing that I wish the game had was a longer story. I ran through the story in a few days, maybe 25 hours worth of game play. There is a lot of after story game play. I am not sure how many power moons there are in the game, I think there may be as many as you care to get, you can purchase them for 100 coins each at the store after beating the story. I currently have close to 600 and that unlocks everything that is not hidden in the store. I am not sure if there is more, but at this point I am getting ready to play something else.

Overall, it was a great game. It has been one of my favorite Mario platformers and for one who is not a huge fan of Mario platformers I actually enjoyed this one. It was a joyful experience to play and discover. I just wish there had been more to discover during the story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77