Diary of a (rookie) Ingress player - Pokemon Go Home!

in #videogame8 years ago

Recently there was a huge buzz about Pokemon Go killer app.
I tried it (even if my iPhone was too old to manage it), and it was no great experience.

  • No user interaction possible and a very basic gameplay
  • I like Pokemons but I still feel they are more suitable for very young kids.

So I discovered Ingress and it was way cooler

  • a great story behind the game and the choice of two very different factions (Enlightened and Resistance)
  • a great soundtrack which creates a futuristic spy story atmosphere
  • possibility of user interaction, faction interaction, chat
  • a big community of adult users also here in Italy (mostly IT people and technology nerds, which is good networking for me)
  • complex gameplay with many features, different weapons, shields, portals
  • outstanding glyph system which rewards real user ability, memory and concentration
  • augmented reality system long before Pokemon popped out

I had the luck to meet very interesting people, to walk for hours to visit and "hack" portals, to reach many different rewards and to enjoy the mysterious and fascinating atmosphere of this game.

Also many sociological aspects are involved, just because choosing a faction or another means really having a different approach towards humanity, technology and society, so in the end you will meet people of your faction and discover they share very similar values and ideas with you.

Additionally, all the story is explained like a sci-fi movies on Youtube (see below for Ingress introduction).

Finally, I did an hard mental training to learn and memorize all the complex glyphs, essential to become successful in the game, and trekked more than I usually do, being able to destroy enemy portals and to take control of my small town (with the help of other generous players of my faction).

We also have a Telegram group where we share everyday our progresses and organize local meetings with old and new players.

Did you ever play Ingress? What is your mind about it?

Feel free to share ideas and comments!

Thank you :-)

Sort:  

Hello! I am @upvotes and I am here to help you get upvotes!

Just upvote this comment and your post automatically becomes an @upvotes candidate for: @kids, @gambling, and @teens
Several times a day the most upvoted candidates become the Best of Category post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64564.26
ETH 3223.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65