I can't believe I'm posting this, but here goes - Fan Music Video for Tool's "Stinkfist".

in #video7 years ago (edited)

I produced this for the hell of it back in about March of 2002 using some now-ancient Canon MiniDV camcorders.

This was mostly to see if I could envision something and put it to something tangible using what was new technology to me at the time: non-linear video editing. Prior to this, I was using Super-VHS tapes on old Panasonic & JVC editing gear, so this was a huge leap forward for me 15 years ago. A little bit of in-camera effects, some post-production effects, a dash of stop-motion animation, and lots of metaphors and symbolism for me in this one, but it's still very, very elementary and beginner-ish, so keep that in mind.
Enjoy. :)




Sort:  

Yes! Used the same Panasonic S-VHS decks! Was this on an XL-1 or GL series? I shot weddings for years with my GL2.

Oh man, it wasn't even that high-end as a XL or GL series. It was the first-gen Optura:

I started weddings with an Optura PI. It broke and I had all these plans to send it to Canon to be fixed. It still sits in the closet waiting for it's appointment.

At this point, I wonder if they would even fix it. :)

Thanks for this. Tool are amazing; I'm ashamed to say that it has been too long since I sat and listened to one of their songs.
Really good work on the video; it's very imaginative: creepy, psychedelic, jittery (and as you mentioned full of metaphors and symbolism) - it screams Tool to me!

I don't want it, I just need it.

to breathe, to feel, to I'm alive

Up voted and now following.

You had me at "Tool"!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84