An alternative to YouTube

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Hi there,

I'm a hobbyist developer, and I've created an alternative video hosting platform. It's called OVP (open video platform). It's running over at perpetuum.io

I'm looking for people who are interested in trying it out for free.

The goals of this project are:

  • Supply an alternative to YouTube.
  • For use with Patreon, Steemit, and others.
  • Give a minimal interface for creators.
  • Designed without searching, tags, or comments.
  • The idea is to use the public links of uploaded videos and put them on Patreon, Steemit, and others - utilizing their comment system and searching.

Here's an example video that I produced hosted on my site, this is what public users (not logged in) see. In order to view the video, you must know the URL to it. This is similar to the concept of uploading private videos to YouTube and then posting on Patreon or Steemit.

https://perpetuum.io/player.php?v=dd4a5672938e23a05e04115ff3f51953378b26a621c70845ad14b9df7b0615bb.mp4

After logging in, this is the user interface you're greeted with:

OVP interface.png

Home.png

Upload.png

Currently, the site is by invitation only - but I want to offer accounts for free to volunteers that are willing to try it out.
Please send an email to [email protected] requesting an account.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Posting an update here, the source code is still being developed. I've recently added automatic video conversion (like what YouTube does) and I've styled the site.

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44