The Disparate Dimension- #1 Takes two to Acro (well, at least two) **VIDEO**

in #video7 years ago (edited)

21751310_10154599814441895_3331668679880667284_n.jpg

Why would you do crazy stuff like Acroyoga? Because it's super fun, it looks fantastic, it makes you better at communicating, it builds community and it cultivates trust while making you stronger both physically and mentally. Oh and you can be the cool kid with the awesome tricks at the party!

After years of practicing yoga I heard about this "partner yoga", a practice that incorporated yoga, acrobatics and Thai massage. I saw a couple people doing it and I remember thinking "I'd never trust someone to not drop me. I don't even trust myself not to fall, why would I ever want to do this?"
A year later (two years ago) I found myself floating on someone's feet in my first Acroyoga workshop. This time my thoughts were "ok just do what the teacher said; stay stiff, engage my core, lift my chest bla bla bla ahhhh I forgot what I have to do! and I'm really scared to look down, oh man..... I'm flyyyyyying!!".

Boom! I was suddenly in love with a practice that challenged my boundaries and made me face my fears. It allowed me to feel like a kid again, to PLAY, to trust others AND myself, and it reminded me that it is not only ok but NECESSARY to SAY what I need to protect me and everyone else, which is very useful in everyday life as well.
And so I play........

BUT IT'S NOT ALL SHITS AND GIGGLES! Learning Acroyoga requires training: Strength, Flexibility and Technique. It takes Time, Discipline and Responsibility, as you may not know all the techniques that will make the practice safe, for yourself and others.

I thought it would be fun to share the process of how we got into a fun new pose we played with last Sunday.

First @threebagsfull and Chris set the foundation, then @kkshe.writes gracefully cartwheels onto Chris's thighs and gets all set up. Maeley then climbs to the top to take High Bird while I'm spotting her and make sure she's safe. Once everyone is safe and sturdy I...... forget what I'm supposed to do and get scolded by @threebatsfull. Quickly I turn the right direction and jump on a shoulderstand. Enjoy!

WATCH THE VIDEO!

PLEASE DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME (OR ANYWHERE) WITHOUT PROPER INSTRUCTION AND A SAFE TRAINED SPOTTER!

I hope this was entertaining and that maybe you will try to find your local acroyoga community!

Steem on, Steem on, Steem until your dreams come truuuuuuuu-ue

0pzfiig7xd9kx76p685.png

Sort:  

Woaaah, I love it, there's something poetic about it. It looks like some kind of beautiful abstract organic shape, telling the story of life. Ok maybe I went too far in my mind. Haha.
Acroyoga is a marvelous discipline, there's something so relaxing and pleasant about it...

And damn, so many ducks in the background! Where is this place?

Ooooh I like where your mind is going! Please elaborate on the story of life in shapes!!
Those are geese! hahahaha yeah there were a ton of them. That's in Sacramento, California. In the lake like 20 minutes from where I live

Congratulations @val.halla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow thats some impressive stuff. Clearly takes a lot of practice an build up. I've done a little bit of partner yoga but never on this scale. Good work be nice to see more :)

Thank you! Yes, it does take time, but we have a pretty supportive community, so with consistency it is easy to get good in a short time!! There will be a lot more of this! =D

Sounds good, not much of that kind of community around my new place. That i've found yet ;)

Yeeeahhh Nice nice!
I wish I was able to make it that day.

Ya it was super fun. We need to plan another before the summer is gone

Awesomeeeee!!!!!

Thank you for watching!!

Health is always fashionable. This takes time, skill and great love. Congratulations

Congratulations @val.halla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice cross gender teamwork! :)
Have you considered using Dtube for the video? I just tried it for the first time. I had a few unexpected surprises but it worked well overall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84