Roadtrip- From California (USA) to Sonora (Mexico)

in #video6 years ago

avatar.PNG


The drive from Sacramento, CA to Puerto Penasco, SON is really interesting. It is aproximately 15 hours taking into account traffic and gas/bathroom stops.


map.PNG

The changes in vegetation and landscape make it a very pretty and unusual one. Many open areas in Sacradrivmento valleys and foothills are "California prairie". Prairie, often called “grasslands”, is actually covered with a mixture of wildflowers and grasses. Prairie is a much better name since most of its grasses are exotic weeds, while many of its forbs are native wildflowers.
As I drive south, I see lots of vineyards and green hills. Until I hit Los Angeles. Oh L.A. how we all hate your traffic...! From a consistent 80-90 mile/hr I go down to 20.

Luckily I planned my food ahead of time and I have lots of snacks in a big lunch box in the passenger seat. It's the best companion!

I like when I start seeing a couple palm trees, that's when I know I'm in Southern California and I immediately feel more chill. I guess marketing and The Beach Boys have gotten in my head.

After the palm trees the landscape makes a very sharp change. And it's one of my favorites. Everything around is rock. Rocks are made of bunches of rocks, hills of rocks, everything is light brown and the curves on the road give me the feeling that I'm a part of the Never Ending Story and one of the hills will open its eyes and talk to me.

ddb2643e7cc56b18ab89e87526eef8e9.jpg

Crossing the border is always easy and you're in a whole different world. Sadly a bunch of trash on the streets and everyone drives however they like. I'm always shocked at first. Ah Mexico, I love you for a whole other set of reasons, but not the roads.

And then..... BOOM! THE IMMENSE BEAUTY OF THE DESERT

Miles and miles of sand and cute tiny bushes. The best part of it, is seeing the ocean while driving through the hottest desert in Mexico.

I love this drive, and I love long periods of silence as much as singing loud.
Next is the drive back soon.

Here's a video of my drive and maybe a couple shots of me too ;P

Sort:  

Long ol'drive!

Yeah, reaaaally long. Sometimes on the way back I do it without stopping to sleep. That one is rough the last 2 hours

thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79