Independence Day, is it still a Good Movie. Yes it is

in #video7 years ago

So to celebrate the 4th of July me and my family watched Independence day.

independence day 1.jpg

SOURCE

Every year I forget how good it is. This movie has to be one of my favorite movies of all time. With the characters, and the plot, and the practical effects. Okay, okay let me slow down, whooo. This movie gets so much right, in my opinion. The main characters have just enough back-story for you to get attached.

Independance-Day-Crop-Duster.jpg

SOURCE

For example, the crop duster/town idiot claimed to have been abducted by aliens, making him a joke in the community. It then caused him to turn to alcohol, becoming an alcoholic, then leading to his kids resenting him. Because he is always to drunk to do his job correctly, it left him unable to raise his children or provide the medication that his son needs to stay healthy. It also caused his oldest son to have to take care of his brother and sister. While watching the movie this character might seem like filler, but he is really important in the end. His plot payoff (no spoilers) is really important in the finale. He is just a minor character in the plot. If you didn't know, this movie stars Will Smith and Jeff Goldblum, just to name a couple.

independance day 3.jpg

SOURCE

Who would have guessed that combo would be such a good pairing. When these characters interact, it makes for some of the best scenes of the movie. Now for the plot, this movie is about ALIENS, I know what a twist! I bet you didn't know that. Okay, enough joking around. These aliens go from planet to planet using all the natural resources, and now its Earths turn. The aliens showed up on July 2, and started hovering over most major cities in the world. For hours the world contemplated why they were there. Was it the end of the world, or the start of a bright new future? Spoiler alert, its not. When the aliens start destroying city after city, leaving the world in ruin, it caused the characters to devise a plan to stop them. Obviously, this plot isn't going to win an Oscar, but what it lacks in originality, it makes up for with practical effects.

Independence-Day-trailer.jpg

SOURCE

Now for the best part of the movie, the practical effects. This movie relied heavily on some awesome practical effects, that still hold up today, though, there are times it doesn't. The way they brought the aliens alive with practical effects is second only to the first 2 ALIEN movies. The attention to detail of the modal of city they blew up, is fantastic! The alien ships look amazing as well. Anyway, this movie is great, and I highly recommend watching it if you haven't seen it before. Just don't watch the 2016 sequel!

Thank you so much for reading my thoughts, and I would love to read your thoughts in the comments.

Have a nice day

Sort:  

Awesome movie!

I have been doing a bit of a Nineties movie marathon lately and just watched this again the other night. A classic for me :)

lol okay I won't watch the sequel.

You will thank me later

lol I'll just thank you now. Thanks bud!

You are very welcome

Yes it very much is. One of my favorites. :)

Thank you for the comment

@trumpit Yeah it is and nice post upvoted visit my wall then you free thanks alot

Thank you for the upvote

And i will check your blog out

welc0me And thanks bro

I love your descriptions and break down of this movie @trumpit 👽🚀 👽🚀

Love this movie! Great July 4th tradition. Good thing you watched the original, the sequel was a bit of a let down. It wasn't unwatchable, the action was good, but was just not that great

hi , nice to meet you , I don't wanna lie to people and spam around so I just say if you like music , check out my blog , thank you

Yes. It. Is. The second part also did not disappoint me!

This post has received a 1.74 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @gringalicious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85