My son stays awake playing video games until past midnight and is too tired to go to school in the morning. What can I do about this?

in #video6 years ago

I usually never answer this type of question, but:

I am 19 years old, and I used to have the same problems with my parents.
Do not try to restrict him by force. It ruined the relationship between me and my parents. I always found a way to play games away from my parents, going as far as taking an education in IT.

I recommend that you set him a reasonable limit. Tell him that he must finish his games, and sit down to eat with his family.

Give him a warning 30 minutes prior that you will serve food, OR, always eat at the same time. He needs to plan for himself and his friends. Furthermore, tell him that he needs to get at least 6–8 hours of sleep in order to get the recommended amount and make him feel well enough for school.

Tell him that he can go to bed earlier and wake up an hour earlier and play for an hour before he goes to school. (Or sleep for another hour).

Do not try to restrict him by force. It is what he loves to do and it’s his hobby. It's what he does with his friends. If you restrict him, he will not be respected by his friends (they don’t want to play with him as he just suddenly logs off if you use force), and they will make fun of him.

If you know he is talking to his friends in his room, don’t just walk in and start yelling at him for something. Make sure he muted his microphone first so that his friends don’t have to hear his parents.

If you give him a certain freedom and don’t act like it’s destroying his life or yours and it’s as bad as drugs, I bet he will also go to bed earlier and go to school without any problems.

Just because my parents didn’t give me a chance, it doesn’t mean you can’t give him one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45