Improving Audio and Video Equipment | Constantly Improve your Video Quality

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Today I want to talk to you about constantly improving your skills and equipment and to not get too comfortable with your current situation.

 
For example, in my videos and photography, I’m constantly improving, learning new skills and investing in new equipment so I can create the best possible content I can. 


Below is a screenshot from a video I created 6 months ago. 


 


This video has bleached colours and a dull background, it also has a mic in the shot.
Below is a screenshot of a video that I shot today. 


 


I believe that this video has much better natural colours and a much more exciting background. It also has the mic out of shot. 


However, I’m still not comfortable with this setup and shot and there is a lot more that can be improved and hopefully in 6 months time I will look back at this post and laugh at how bad this screenshot of the video looks compared to the footage I will be creating then. 


The video equipment I use today to create this shot is a Canon 70D with a Canon EF 24-70mm f2.8 L USM lens (pictured below). 


 


The lighting for this current shot is just a couple of soft box lights and I’m also shooting by a window to get some natural light. 


 


The audio equipment I use is a Rode NTG-1 shotgun mic. 


 


Which is recorded with a Shure X2u audio interface and Logic Pro X software. 


 


This audio is then mixed in Logic Pro X and then the video is edited in Final Cut Pro X. 


Like I said this is my current video setup, but I plan to constantly update and improve my equipment and editing and mixed styles to create the best content I possibly can. 


I hope you’ve found this blog post useful and please upvote if you have :) 


To view some of my courses then feel free to view my website: 


http://www.tomasgeorge.com 

Sort:  

Great post, thanks for sharing!

Thank you!

Hey Tomas, this is one hell of a set up!

Anyone who is interested in video and sounds needs to follow you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38