Dtube vs YouTube

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Right now everyone is screaming about Youtube being broken. This puts Dtube, as well as any new video page, in a good position to step up into a position to take over as a new video content delivery system.

But what is exactly wrong with YouTube? Most people are taking wild guesses.

Obviously since Steemit seems to lean more to the conservative audience at the moment, that most people are complaining about advertisers pulling ads from ultra-conservative content. But ad revenue alone is just a small part of bigger issues in recent YouTube changes.

Comparing to Dtube is tough since I haven't seemed to be able to get any sort of analytical data other then the number of likes on my videos. So this post is going to have to focus more on the going-ons over at YouTube. Perhaps this is a failure in the Dtube torrent/blockchain technology or just something that has yet to be implemented in the system.

youtubeAnal.jpg

That's just one of twenty pages on analytics I have available to me on YouTube. Now as you can see from this analytics page, I can get a lot of info.

But, YouTube isn't really my main thing, so rather than jump to my own conclusions about what is broken, I like to see what other people come up with. The best theory I've heard so far comes from one of my favorite video game channels, Game Theory.

One of my favorite things about Game Theory is that the channel's author is a number cruncher, and as I just pointed out, YouTube gives lots of numbers, not just likes.

So Dtube and YouTube seem to be a very far ends of the spectrum. My question is this:

Is there a happy medium between the two? Is there room for Dtube to grow in complexity?

Let me know what you think in the comments bellow!

Sort:  

It just takes time and practice for development team to implement more complex algorithms and features into the system as they are not likely to be open sourced.

Do you know who is in charge of that? Because I would like to find out more about how Dtube works. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34