I Want to Make a Game: Video #1 First Steps (plus some new music)

in #video7 years ago


The other day I made a post about how I wanted to learn how to make a video game. I also mentioned in that post an interesting open source game engine called Godot that I was finding really easy to use and understandable.

Well, over the last few days I've been learning bits and pieces about how to do things in this engine, how to code scripts to make things work, and what not. Mostly I've been following tutorials, but that can get boring at times, it can also end up being very confusing when the person doing the tutorial doesn't give enough information about why they are doing certain things in a certain way and/or in a certain order.

So, yeah, once I got comfortable with the layout of the engine and how it works, I started my own project to try and do the things I've been learning elsewhere. Now, one of the major things I have a problem with is coding, because I've never really done much more than copy/paste/compile, so that's something I'm still working on and have to constantly look up to see how other people have implemented certain things that I want to implement.

Ok, so, I know it doesn't look like much but I'm quite proud of my self for the little example project in that video, because, well, it's the closest I've ever gotten to making a game. Plus, I was really struggling with making certain things work the way I wanted them to, mainly the walking animations (which I'm still not entirely happy with). But I'll save all that for a different progress update post.

What I want to do next is make those barrels and chests interactive (should be easy enough), add stairs for changing floors (might be a bit more difficult), animated doors (shouldn't be too hard). There's a bunch more stuff I want to do, but those are my main concerns right now.

So, yeah. If you want to try doing something like this for yourself you can download the Godot engine here: https://godotengine.org/
They just released version 3.0 too, which I'm probably going to have to upgrade to know, haha.

The art I used for the example in this video can be found here: https://opengameart.org/content/dawnlike-16x16-universal-rogue-like-tileset-v181

Right, that's about it, have fun.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nicely done, @the-dagda! If you can learn to program a game it'll probably open up the doors to programming lots of things. As much as I love tinkering with my computers and operating systems, I've just never had the patience to absorb coding skills. So I'm a little jealous!

Thanks. Yeah, once I get a better understanding of the basics of programming I should hopefully be able to translate those skills into other areas and programming languages.

And, yeah, I've tried learning how to code countless times with about 5 or 6 different languages over the years but usually end up getting lost, confused, and bored after a few days, but there's something about the visual aspect of Godot that helps make the programming bits easier to understand.

Hell yeah, lookin good so far! And I'm digging this format for sharing game updates :-D

Thanks. Yeah, I think videos just make it easier to show some progress and will also make things easier to explain. I'm still going to be doing some mostly text/imaged based posts for all the technical stuff or anything that doesn't require video.

nice game..and easy in how to play it..i love that@the-dagda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76