My new secret travel companion - The DJI Osmo Mobile Unboxing and Testing !

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Friends:



0412_1.jpg

For people who have followed me for some time, you will know that whilst travelling, I love to take pictures as and make videos. I think this is a really good way of capturing the feeling and atmosphere I experienced there. I like to think that my every day life is like a holiday and almost everything I do is worth recording the moment, the problem is that lugging my DSLR around is quite tiring, and because it's so heavy, I often make wobbly or blurry videos. For example, below..

Today, I found a device that can greatly help those with wobbly hands. So, let me introduce it to everyone!

DJI Osmo Mobile was something I came across whilst searching for tutorials and tips on how to make better videos. As my first video making companion to my mobile phone, I was so anxious and excited when buying the Osmo mobile. Below you can see the excitement in my face as I unbox my new toy!



This is what you get in the box. Of course, the handheld gimbal is the main thing but you also get a safety rope, usb charging cable, a protective case/bag, and a battery. I really love the bag, I think it adds a nice finishing touch to the whole set.

The most important use for the Osmo is for stabilising your camera (in my case, my phone). It is essentially a 3 Axis Gimbal for your mobile phone. But aside from this, it also comes with some other neat features in the DJI Go software which is used along side the Osmo. For instance, the Active Track feature which can make the camera follow a selected object or person, and of course different kinds of time-lapse photography / videography. The active track feature is actually used in the DJI Drones such as the Phantom 4. I introduced this already in a previous post.

IMG_7023.JPG

Below let's take a closer look at the handheld gimbal. Even though it might look like a selfie stick, it is of course much more advanced. The whole design of the gimbal is very thought out, all the buttons are placed in natural and easy to reach places, and the handle / grip is very ergonomic, even for my small little hands.

IMG_70d23.jpg
When switched off and held in the hand, the gimbal moves very freely.

As soon as you turn it on, it springs to life! The gimbal's joystick and zoom features give me a sense of control that I could not achieve without the device. It also gives me a small taster of the more advanced tools professionals use to shoot their videos and movies with.


Pan up and pan down is also very flexible!

Swinging left and right!

Zoom function!

Four different shooting modes : Standard, Portrait and Underslung.

Flashlight mode!

The most amazing thing is, when you move your hand around quite aggressively, the phone remains in balance and stable.

Next I want to show you guys what using the Osmo is like when filming whilst running. I got my friend to hold my iPhone without the Osmo, and another phone on the Osmo to film me running. Because the iPhone 7 has Optical Image Stabilisation, it's actually fairly good in this test, but the Osmo is still better! Check out the video below!


After seeing the video comparison, I hoped I've sparked some curiosity into everyone and hopefully you'll be looking forward to seeing more videos captured with the help of the Osmo. I hope you liked my review, and stay tuned for lots of content coming soon with the Osmo !

0411_1.jpg

之前看过我的文章的人,大概会了解我喜欢在旅行中又大量的照片和视频展现最真实的生活,事实上在我看来,我生活中的每一处细节都像旅行中的风景,值得被记录。但是经常由于机器很大,录到的画面会由于手抖变得很不清晰,例如。。。

今天,我找到了能够拯救手抖“患者”的神器。现在就和大家分享一下吧!DJI灵眸Osmo 手机云台是我在网络搜索手机拍摄技巧时候找到的宝贝,作为我第一个手机摄影配件,我在买它的当天激动极了,所以录下了我拆开它包装盒的样子,下面就请大家看看我那张急于探索未知的脸。这是osmo mobile所有配件的全家福——稳定杆当然是主角,还有挂绳、电源线、盘齿保护盖、电池,我最喜欢的要数这个配套的软包,整体的设计非常酷。Osmo最重要的作用当然就是维持拍摄时设备的稳定,Osmo Mobile就是一款典型的手机用三轴稳定器。除了稳定这个最大特点,它的智能化功能——智能跟随和移动延时摄影也是亮点,智能跟随这个功能和之前为大家介绍的无人机也有相同之处。

下面来近距离看看这个手持杆,虽然它看起来有点象我们常常用到的自拍杆,但是其实它的设计要比自拍杆先进太多。完全一体化的整体外形,符合人体工学的手柄,握在手上很稳固,手感也很舒服。拿在手上会灵活自如的摇晃。但是一旦启动,稳定器就从睡梦中醒来了。云台转动和镜头伸缩的按钮让我感觉非常有操控感,亲身体验了一把我们常常在电影中看到的智能科技。上下动也很灵活!左右摆动!放大的功能!四种拍摄模式:标准模式/竖拍模式/悬挂模式!手电筒模式!最奇妙的地方就是,当你的手在不稳定晃动的时候,手机依然保持平衡。接下来我想大家一定很期待看看运动中拍下的视频是什么样子的,所以我就用iphone和另一个装了osmo的手机同时拍下了我跑步的视频,现在来看看他们的区别吧!看了拍摄的对比,你们是不是更期待看到之后的旅游会有osmo的出现。希望大家喜欢我的评测,之后会有一系列由osmo拍摄的游记视频等着和大家分享!

Sort:  

Dun dun dunnnn! :3 And did you know a little tiger walked behind you at the end of that video! :O

Nice unboxing and I think you will have a lot of fun with your Osmo!

Haha , Amber has fur like the cushions behind me! Appeared like magic!

I wonder how much does this DJI charge for this super selfie stick.
It's like whoa.... it's not cheap.

You have expensive toy.

Yeah it's quite pricey! I think since i'm always taking pictures and video though, it will be a good long term investment.

Well, as long as you putting it to good use, so us more pictures and videos in other posts. :-)

Excellent work lady @sweetsssj, thank you very much for the information, congratulations on the new acquisition and the new travel companion.

thank you jlufer, more videos to come made with osmo soon!

So basically a Selfie-Stick 0n steroids ;)
Resteemed! I will need something like this
Thx

Kind of yeah! The selfie is t he last thing i'd be using it for though!

Great product and great video! Looking forward to more :)

Thanks! It takes a bit of getting used to as well as practice to get some nice shots but it's as they say, it's all about the journey and not the destination!

Rightly said. Also, practice makes perfect! :)

really cool! Looking forward for more

I took it with me on a trip the next day and got some nice shots, i'll share the video in an upcoming post!

That is some insane technology @sweetsssj. You are now a walking movie studio, and the official Steemit superstar :) Great quality on the clips with the Osmo mobile.

Thanks! I'm really looking forward to making and sharing more videos with it, it's been so much fun!

Your welcome @sweetsssj, sounds like you will be busy making some cool videos for us all :)

I got my OSMO mobile today. And...almost killed it within the first 10 minutes after unpacking. Upgrade with care. I will be writing my separate post about this adventure

congrats!!! Time to show us some cool videos, go osmo!

In fact I got two of them, Osmo and also Zhiyun Smooth-Q .
Because I could not decide which is better. Both have their advantages.

Interesting device, like the Steadicam, just in small size.

I had a look at some other stabilisers for my DSLR but the camera itself is already so heavy so I went for the more mobile option. I think these will become popular in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58