Why is the Steem Price is so Low + How Can We Fix It?

in #video6 years ago

Where do we have the biggest opportunity to improve the value of the Steem blockchain and therefore increase the price? Will you please watch this video if you care about the future of Steem because what I'm about to address is the most important issue we are currently facing for Steem and is the number one thing we need to address immediately if we seriously hope for our blockchain to continue to grow in value and to continue to attract more investors, more authors and more users?

Why is the Steem Price So Low + How Can We Fix It?
What I'm talking about here is downvoting and the call to action I'm suggesting is that we immediately remove the ability to downvote any post. I will share the reasons not to do this. I will share everything related to it, but let's start this out on something we can relate to.

Have we been downvoted before?

I am one of the most downvoted authors on Steem. I'm not the very most, but there are a few that have got more downvotes in terms of dollars lost on posts than I have, and I can tell you one thing, it stinks.

Now, for me, it doesn't stink that much because I'm wealthy. I am fine losing $20, $50 or $100 on a post. In fact, most of the recent high earning posts I've got have lost me money. I promoted them with voting bots and due to downvotes, I actually lost money on putting up a post.

Why is the Steem Price So Low + How Can We Fix It?

In my case, the downvotes don't matter that much although they do trigger all of these psychological problems that are associated with downvoting.

The reason downvoting is so toxic to Steem is because of human psychology and how we behave. We are programed to avoid pain and downvoting is consistently a source of pain, even if it might look minor, it is allowing very active censorship on the Steem blockchain.

I am shocked at how few posts I have seen openly going into the downvoting as a subject. I hope you will look deep into this with me because as soon as you see it, you will see what I see, that when we consider all of Steem, everyone using it, all of the investors, this is the number one issue.

When we talk about what adds value to Steem, how do we add value to Steem when we give people the ability to take our rewards away with downvoting?

What I've noticed is that a lot of authors quit posting and sell everything on Steem due to downvotes. While the proposed reason that we are supposed to keep downvoting doesn't work on those that need it the most.

First, if you don't understand what downvoting is, on every post there is a little flag option on the very top of it. You might not even have noticed it. It allows us instead of adding an upvote to a post to add what's called a flag or a downvote.

A downvote removes rewards on posts and when posts go below zero they are hidden on most user interfaces for the Steem blockchain, and when your account gets downvoted enough, you are not able to put images into your posts and your posts are hidden by default.

This is a devastating feature that if you have not experienced it, you can hope to avoid it. You can count yourself lucky if you don't understand what I'm talking about from having been flagged. You can count yourself as fortunate because I've got a bunch of examples that I'm not going to show you all of the accounts and every single example because this allows us to focus, criticize and judge individuals.

This is not about what individual people are doing. This is about our blockchain as a whole.

I've seen accounts collectively worth hundreds of thousands of dollars that got downvoted so much. In fact, considering another account, millions of dollars of Steem, that have sold everything because of these flags.

I will give you an example from my own account.

If you are wondering why I started a voting bot, this is the post.

Two downvotes led to me starting a voting bot.

Read more at https://steemit.com/steem/@subrata9744

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68055.12
ETH 3813.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72