Insomniac Film Festival #13: The Hitman’s Bodyguard

in #video7 years ago

240EC454-7FE3-4E05-B34C-F46BAEDF5127.jpeg
The Hitman’s Bodyguard came out in 2017, starring Ryan Reynolds and Samuel L. Jackson, and I missed it because I could not afford to go at the time and then it left theatres when I before I could. I also delayed seeing it when I came out on DVD and VOD because just did not look all that great to be honest.

I was wrong though. Having just watched it this evening. I can’t say that I should have made the effort to see it much earlier. It is your standard buddy action comedy but Reynolds and Jackson are a hilarious, charismatic team and the story moves along quickly, the action intense and the show is funny. I was quite taken by the story as a whole.

Gary Oldman plays the dictatorial president of Belarus, who is on trial at the international criminal court. Jackson’s Kincaid is a hitman who is testifying against him in exchange for his wife’s freedom. En route, Kincaid is attacked by Oldman’s crew. His Interpol handler contacts Reynolds’ Bryce to have him deliver Jackson’s character to The Hague. Kincaid and Bryce know each other and do not get along. Hijinks ensue.

The Good...

9C2D4F0D-2394-4C8B-A423-FBCD8B79B914.jpeg

Reynolds and Jackson have great chemistry together. Their repartee is great.

The women in their lives, Elodie Yung, as Amelia Roussel, and Salma Hayek, as Sonia Kincaid, are strong characters with their own agency and action.

The action was fun, kind of original, and never boring.

Like I said above, this move pretty quickly and I really enjoyed it.

The Not So Good...

Didn’t much care for Oldman’s rote “I’m-so-Evil” bad guy.

As well, when one character actor showed up on screen, you know immediately who the turncoat in Interpol was going to be.

Well worth the watch. I really enjoyed it.

B220181E-C89F-4955-B933-0CD97BEA6BB8.jpeg

-all photos via IMDb.com.

Sort:  

Sounds amazing

Nice Blog Post. I Upvoted and Followed You.. Upvote and follow me Back so we can Earn together

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72