52% of Americans Are Unhappy with Their Jobs. Are You One of Them? Let Me Help.

in #video7 years ago

Let me be more blunt. Imagine showing up to work for at least 40 hours a week spending every minute of it watching the clock, wishing you could accelerate time and walk out the door. Sadly, this has become a reality for many Americans. Why as Americans don’t we choose satisfying jobs? Is it money?

--DISCLAIMER –Yes, of course it is money.

As Americans, I feel like most of us have recently bought into this “buy, buy, buy” culture. We work to buy things we don’t need, then complain about not having stuff we want. Are we taking jobs for money rather than doing what we love? Is our spending putting us in a position where need to take the jobs we dislike?

For example:

We buy a 4k T.V because we just upgraded our cable package. But oh wait, I “need” a chic sofa to sit on while I watch it. Shoot, I “need” an end table that matches my sofa. I “need” a rug to put my feet on while I sit on my sofa and watch my T.V. It’s a slippery slope. I am guilty of this, as I’m sure some of you are.

Even the sizes of our homes have increased, and we’re not even using the extra space.

In 2013, the average size of new houses increased to an all-time high of 2,679 square feet, and the median size of new homes set a new record of 2,491 square feet. Over the last 40 years, the average home has increased in size by more than 1,000 square feet, from an average size of 1,660 square feet in 1973 to 2,679 square feet in 2013.

The picture to the right comes from a study done at UCLA where it was featured in "Life at Home in the 21st Century.” Here it shows the areas of the house the family used during the day.

Notice how little the porch and dining room get used.

Is this why Americans aren’t happy at work? Instead of focusing on the essentials, we get caught up in the “buy culture.” We spend money on big houses we use sparingly, then fill those houses with stuff we don’t need.

It wasn’t until the end of 2017 when I told myself “Enough”. That was the moment I changed my future. I knew what my dream job was, it was to be a video producer. Doesn’t matter what type of video. Documentaries, wedding videos, commercials, or travel videos. I want to do it all. I have already started contacting clients and building my portfolio.

I have always loved recording video and I knew this was my time to turn my dreams into a reality. I want to be own boss, vacation when I want, and avoid the corporate ladder. I don’t want to spend my whole life working away at some mindless job. I don’t ever want my job to interfere with my family or friends either. That’s why being my own boss sounds so appealing.
I am only a 21-year-old, and I am finishing up my senior year of college. I by no means have the money to start a production studio. This past summer I was working three jobs and living frugally. I then started donating my plasma to pay for my equipment.

I started cutting back on the amount of coffee I was drinking, weed I was smoking, and the amount of times I would go out to eat. These minor changes added up quick and I was finally able to purchase my DSLR camera along with other equipment.

I challenge all of you to think about if you’re happy with your current jobs. Could you be cutting back on spending? Are you working as hard as you possibly can to achieve it? I believe we all can be happy in our professions, we just need to work to get there first.

According to Forbes Magazine, the number one death-bed regret that people have is that they worked too much. So, I ask you, will you be regretting this too?

I hope this article has given you all the inspiration you need. Remember to always follow your heart! If someone tells you that you can’t do something, use that as fuel and prove them wrong. We all can make our dreams become a reality if we just put in the work!

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed over 90000+ followers and get upto $19+ value Upvote. Your post will skyrocket and give you maximum exposer.

Send 1 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 30000+ followers and 1 upvote $1.5+ value. Plus Get

Send 3 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $5+ value. Plus Get

Send 5 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 60000+ followers and 1 upvote $9+ value. Plus Get

Send 6 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $11+ value. Plus Get

Send 10 SBD or STEEM to steemitrobot with your post url you will get your post share over 90000+ followers and 1 upvote $19+ value. Plus Get

See our all pakages at:

http://www.whaleboostup.ml

Hola @mswag12, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
5183 6512 2794 3777
2103 3703 5100 5112
9579 4550 8834 6927
9438 3568 8354 8583

Congratulations @mswag12! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mswag12! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89