You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A look at HOW we are driving Traffic FROM Youtube TO Dtube...

in #video6 years ago (edited)

While I also love the idea that all involved get rewards for their participation I'm also cautious about how dtube's software and hardware will be able to support massive numbers of viewers and creators. Youtube has google behind it as hardware and software, making it capable of much more than dtube could handle currently. We all know when a service goes viral on the internet it often experiences technical difficulties. While this will get addressed over time I wouldn't want dtube to crash or be damaged before it's capable of holding youtube audiences and heavy traffic. I wish you the best of luck driving traffic to our future decentralized video distribution. I'm interested to see a video on this topic. SteemOn

Sort:  

Nice to Steem you, @macmaniac77! Totally agree with you. As far as I know DTube relies, for its data storage capacity, on the IPFS project, one of the several existing peer-to-peer Internet infrastructures. When I posted my first DTube video yesterday I received a notification mentioning the user name of whom was seeding my video (much like what happens with BitTorrent).

The logical outcome of it is that for us to expand DTube stability and data handling the best way is to engage ourselves in the IPFS project, and seed other Steemians videos with our personal computer, or even better, setting up a dedicated node :-D

I think it would be a fantastic idea to use steem to incentivize running an ipfs node in support of dtube. Where your rewards are based on traffic your computer serves. Most home computers are off during the day when they could be earning income!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90