Navigating the Mississippi River Backwaters - A tribute to my Grandparents, and my Dad.

in #video7 years ago (edited)

The other day I had an opportunity to go out on the river with my dad. We took a cruise down to a place with some historical significance to my family, someplace I haven't been in many years. It's a place that is only passable when the water is high enough that you can safely pass over the dike at the entrance to the Trudell Slough, a spillway from the Mississippi River which feeds into the Vermillion River.

My Dad has been navigating the Mississippi River, it's tributaries, and backwaters, since he was 8 years old -- he's 76 now.

I managed to capture video of the trip and edited together a little short which sums up the journey.

IMG_20170525_131956.jpg

This is the place where on June 23rd, 1957, my Grandparents Francis (Ole) Lovejoy, and his wife Dorothy Lovejoy drowned, during their attempt to rescue 3 teenagers from a capsized boat which was trapped against the turbulence of the water rushing over the dike.

My dad, who was 15 years old at the time, managed to pull one of the teenagers to shore with a rope, but the rest, sadly, were lost to the river that day.


This video is in memory of my Grandfather Francis (Ole) Lovejoy and Grandmother Dorothy Lovejoy who gave their lives to rescue those in need; and in honor of my father, who rescued one, and endured the tragic loss of his parents at such a young age.



Music Credit:
The Encouragement Stick, by Doctor Turtle
Licensed under an Attribution-ShareAlike License


I've included this newspaper clipping from June of 1957, without transcription, if you wish to read the whole account of that fateful day.

trudell.jpg


Francis LovejoyDorothy Lovejoy

I learned at a very young age, and even as a sailor I'm repeatedly learning:
Always respect the water.

My heartfelt condolences to all who have experienced the tragic loss of family members, and my deepest admiration for those who press on and make a life for themselves, and others, despite the tragedy. You are my heroes.

blessings, @lovejoy


Sort:  

My heart goes out to you and you loved ones. A very heartfelt article that opens the heart and makes us feel gratitude for the beauties of this moment. Namaste

Thanks for your thoughtful comment. At the end of the day, and really... at the beginning, we have to be grateful for what we have, and honor what we have lost. Bless, b

@lovejoy this story is insane! :O

Beautiful Memorial Brother!! XOXO

Very nice post and very said. Now following you!

Thanks, much appreciated! :)

Great video. It brings back memories of my youth on the bayous of Lousiana.

Thanks for the comment. Yeah.. though I haven't been on the bayous of Lousiana... we are connected by the same river, and when the water is high, it's another world.

Such a tragic story! Very nice video in honor of your grandparents who were truly heroes. Glad you and your dad were able to have this moment together. Nothing like being out on the river. Upvoted and followed

Thanks, yeah... it's heartbreaking. He's 76 years old right now, really glad we could take this trip. I try not to take anything for granted. Glad to be on the river while we still can.

Much respect man. I admire people who are able to navigate waterways the same way us "city" folk navigate roads.

Seriously... As my dad pointed out on this last trip, going downriver is easy, but when you turn around to come back upstream there are so many wrong turns you can make, it's a labyrinth... I don't know these waters anywhere near as well as he does. Thanks for your comment. Cheers!

Awesome post. I have spent many hours out on the Great Lakes and have great respect for being out on the water and learning the ways of boating with my dad.
I can see the dangers of navigating all those pitfalls, it is different than the dangers I have faced on the big lakes.

Thanks! I have sailed the great oceans, the big lakes, and the mighty rivers, and I must say... though the ocean is vast, on the rivers, you can't let your guard down for too long. Glad to hear from another midwestern water lover. Are you in Detroit, right between Erie and Huron? :)

Yup, north of Detroit, spent a lot of time on from Lake Huron, ST Clair River, Lake ST Clair, Detroit River and Lake Erie, with occasional Lake Michigan sprinkled in. I have been on all the same waters as well, off Florida, etc., each has its unique challenges one must be wary of.

The river is where it's at! FISH ON!!!! Good times :)

Thanks for your comment. Summer is here! Hope to see some fishing posts from you! =)

Excellent post @lovejoy

Ahhhh, thank you! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68465.88
ETH 3766.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66