A Steemit Premier: 'Demolition Derby Queen' by Natalie Lovejoy (Official Music Video)

in #video7 years ago (edited)

The Making of "Demolition Derby Queen"
the music video.


It was way back one hot August night in 2015 when this gem was shot... So, I'm super excited to finally be unveiling this music video of my sister's future classic rock jam, "Demolition Derby Queen".

Venturing out to the Dakota County Fair in Farmington Minnesota is a Lovejoy family tradition stretching back many years. My sister @natalielovejoy and I were always particularly fond of going to the demolition derby, and watching as the cars slowly ground each other into the mud over several heats. Perhaps it's my latent dystopian tendencies, but there's just not much quite so satisfying as watching people repeatedly smash cars into each other until there's just one left moving. It's like a modern gladiator spectacle of such grotesque proportions that it actually becomes beautiful, somehow.

Well anyhow, on a hazy August afternoon, my buddy @roadscape and I drove down to the fairgrounds just in time to meet up with my sister and see what could be done about shooting a music video.

DERBY.00_02_14_46472.Still002.jpg

The way it all unfolded was quite surreal and informative! You see, my sister is a natural charmer... maybe it runs in the family, but boy she's got it in spades!

So, knowing just how outgoing she can be, there with her red helmet and her Kiss tank-top, we headed out into the fairgrounds with an eye on the grandstand, to see what we could get into.

We started wandering through the midway, @roadscape was DP (Director of Photography) on the Canon 5d Mark ii, and I was Directing, Sound Recorder, and Camera Operator on the Canon T1i.

I said to Natalie, "Just start introducing yourself as the Demolition Derby Queen."

"Really?" She said.

"Yeah, who's to say you're not?" I replied.

You see, as far as the Dakota County Fair was concerned: There was never any such thing as a Demolition Derby Queen... but on the flip side of that coin, there never wasn't a Demolition Derby Queen either! So who was going to say otherwise!?

DERBY.00_01_29_31499.Still001.jpg

Cue the magic of @natalielovejoy, with a small film crew entourage. ;)

We rolled into the grandstand, Natalie shaking hands with curious onlookers and introducing herself as the Demolition Derby Queen. We strolled to the back where the crews were hard at work preparing their cars for battle.

We met some of the organizers, and when they learned that the Demolition Derby Queen had arrived, boy... it's like they knew we were coming! They just rolled with it! Instant all-access granted, they promptly gave all three of us 'pit-passes' so we could wander freely back where pit-crews wrenched on their derby cars and the announcer's booth loomed over the track, with firefighters at the ready all around.

We were invited up into the announcer's booth, and we managed to get them to play Demolition Derby Queen, over the loudspeakers between heats!

We roamed around all the smashed up cars, and made some new friends, all of them delighted, or wholly confused by our presence there.

What you see in the video is just a fraction of the ridiculous and exhausting fun we had at the fair that day.

All hail the Demolition Derby Queen!

Demolition Derby Queen
Music by: @natalielovejoy
From the album: Hiding In The Light
Music Recorded & Produced by: Andy Thompson
Director of Photography: @roadscape
Director / Sound / Camer Operator: @lovejoy


Hopefully you enjoyed the video! Please feel free to Resteem, and Vote!
This is my reward for all the hours of shooting and editing. :)
I'll buy @roadscape a beer. ;)

I will get @natalielovejoy to write an introduction soon, where you may shower her with praise, and welcome! =) Why not go give her a follow now!?


Oh and, @surfermarly, I suggested you as Natalie's Steemit role-model. I set her account to follow you and said, just try to keep up with this one! It's a tall order I know, but she'll figure it out! ;)


Sort:  

What great fun. Thoroughly enjoyed and LOL, lots. Super production guys. Thanks. Demolition Derby Queen @natalielovejoy's header will soon be preceeded with The One And Only World Famous....

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed. :) It was great fun to shoot!

Ha... Thanks for the comments :)

You are welcome @natalielovejoy If you 'feel' it make this your brand, as a summer gig. You have the stylistic flow for sure and now's the season in the midwest. If you check out the surrounding counties and demolition lives, they need a Queen.

Hey! I love the song! I'll be reading the post in full later. Thank you for sharing!

Awesome, thanks. @natalielovejoy is lurking around here somewhere, I'll pass your compliments on to her. :)

I AM lurking. Thanks for the comments!! Working on my intro post now :)

Awesome! link it back here to make sure I don't miss it.

That was thorough entertainment!

That's what I like to hear! :)

Thanks bunches!!

What an honor, thanks for your incredibly kind mention and the recommendation!!! I feel VERY blessed :)

The video is outstanding and Natalie's voice amazing (following @natalielovejoy now), really great work! I especially love the coloring and camera movements, it's very cool and dynamic and perfectly mirrors the adrenalinic atmosphere of the event.

Thanks for sharing it with us - resteemed hoping that it will gain even more attention :)

Awww, thanks @surfermarly... I'm glad I was being more kind than presumptuous. :) I'm happy that you liked the production! Now that that's off my plate you have no idea how much psychological bandwidth that frees up for Steem related projects! Thanks for swinging by! =)

You are more than welcome!! The pleasure is mine :)

Thanks for the comments and for the resteem!! :) Working on my intro post right now!

Very good! Thanks

Thanks, much appreciated!

If not a masterpiece, then certainly a glorious seashell superbly situated on a beautiful beach at sunrise !! and I know it was a true exercise in working with the mystery of time, trust me on that ;)

Thanks amigo! So, when are you going to replace that grey silhouette with something a little more becoming?! And.. we do miss your photography....Hope you will share some more! :)

He's got stamina that one!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.23
ETH 2545.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67