Drone Prix Circuit - A Milestone in my FPV lifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Late last year, I got the LiftOff simulator, I had no experience flying FPV and I tried to fly this circuit and I just got nowhere. I found it fiendishly difficult. I forgot all about the track and practiced on other tracks...tracks with soft bouncy objects such as hay bales, rather than windy tracks with carbon-shattering steel cross pieces every 2 metres.

I've come back to this track a few times since first attempting it, but I just couldn't get round although admittedly I never really persevered for more than a few minutes as this track is particularly unforgiving and any little knock or brush with the track results in carnage as the quad hits a cross piece. But I had a go tonight and it clicked. This isn't my best looking attempt - I started the screen recorder once I knew I was getting round this track in one piece. Flying this circuit is exhilarating, even in the sim. Next time I will run it in race mode so I can get a lap time:

Although LiftOff is incredibly realistic, in terms of how it feels to fly FPV in rate-mode, I would love to one day have the opportunity to fly this track in real life. But until then, here is a YouTube video from the 2016 World Drone Prix in Dubai:


If you like this post and would like my stuff on your feed, please follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69