You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Forget LBRY, I'm Putting My Video Library on DTube

in #video7 years ago

I love the idea of DTube and also that it is already available. However, it is posting the videos on Steemit as well instead on a seperate platform. That also means that it only brings payouts for the first seven days and then locks in. Isn't that right? So that would make LBRY a better longterm solution I suppose. And how about view.ly? They long very promising.

Sort:  

LBRY is better for different things. But overall, I like DTube better.

I don't like that the videos are automatically posted to Steemit. I have a feeling that the designer did that to bring more attention to the video platform. Hopefully one day that feature becomes optional.

I still haven't looked at view.ly.

I still wonder how the payouts work. It is the same with Steemit, isn't it? After seven days you get some money at that's it? Because for videos this concept doesn't work as well as with posts. A video is a long term investment and shouldn't stop be moneytized so quickly.

The automatic post to Steemit is already optional I think. You can deactivate that I have read yesterday in a comment from Heimdanger.

Yes. Since it's built on the Steem blockchain, by rule is HAS to function the same way as Steemit in terms of payouts.

I agree that the short payout time period works better with blogging than with videos.

That is kind of disappointing. But it is a good start and will help. Other platforms like LBRY are better suited for long term video monetization on a blockchain.

I have to disagree, I don't think the 7 day payout period works well for either blog posts or videos. A system that pays out every week, instead of just the first, would be much better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57372.40
ETH 2456.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41