Fighting Native American poverty on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Taking a break from the train themed postings, I've got an issue to discuss that is very important to me: helping Native Americans build better lives.

Two years ago, I had the privilege of taking a week long trip to the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation to assist a ministry that had just begun in 2012, the Pine Ridge Baptist Church. This summer, my wife and I traveled back to the Church to assist in their ministries again. The issues plaguing the reservation are innumerable. Mainly, the people lack access to food, clean living conditions, proper health care, and education. That's where the church comes in.

From here, I will tell the story through two short documentaries I made following the trips I've taken. First, The Church at Pine Ridge (2015) about my first trip:

And second, the video from this year, Return to the Church at Pine Ridge (2017):

If you'd like more information about the trips, please comment with your questions and I'd be happy to answer them. Otherwise, you can find more information about the Pine Ridge Baptist Church at http://pineridgebaptistchurch.org. Thanks for your time!

Sort:  

What's up brother. Wanted to say thanks for the resteem yesterday, you are awesome. So what are some of your goals for your blog? I don't mind giving my input if you need a second opinion :)

You're very welcome! Right now my goals are to build up followers by posting things that I enjoy talking about, specifically things I've already created that I just haven't shared on steemit yet, e.g. the videos in this blog post, my band videos from my earlier post, etc. I'm hoping to present things in high quality writeups that make people want to come back and read my next post. After I've gotten the hang of it, I'll hopefully be able to make blogs about subjects that are of interest to me that I think other people might also take interest in. We'll see how it goes!

That's great my dude. Stick to that! Remember one thing, you can have the most incredible content in the world, but if no one knows about it, then there's no point..

What I'm getting to is if you want a blog on Steemit, for example, to be prime, it need both of these factors in my opinion. The content is 50% of the work. The 50% is self-promotion and marketing :)

Great stuff! Talk soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45