The most spectacular Bali rite - Ogoh-Ogoh 2017: Video, Photo, Story

in #video7 years ago

I want to share my reportage about 1939 Balinese New Year (according to local calendar it was held at 28 of March 2017)
Ogoh-Ogoh is a tremendous parade of the huge statues that symbolize demons, evil and human sins. They are burned after (or destroyed during) the parade as an act of purification. (probably, "Burning man" was inspired by that tradition)
Whole story in my video. Bad news - it's in Russian, good news - with English subtitles ;)

I like StarWars universe, so I decided to replace broken demon's swords by lightsaber animation. The team that created that statue found my animation in instagram. They laugh a lot, and sent me many thanks.

All was shot with sony rx100m4 + Zhiyun crane-m. Sound was taken by Zoom H2n (XY-scheme for orchestra, mono- for voice).
[ I appreciate any criticism and upvotes ;) ]
thumbnail:
thumb6.jpg
youtube:


photos:
_DSC9821.jpg

_DSC9803.jpg

_DSC9789.jpg

_DSC9667.jpg

_DSC9810.jpg

_DSC9846.jpg

_DSC9878.jpg

_DSC9896.jpg

Sort:  

One of your images resembles Indian Goddes Kali/ maha kali

The multiheaded statue also has a resemblance with the Historical Indian evil king Ravana, who had 10 heads.

You're absolutely right. Main religion on Bali - Balinese Hinduism that is a mix of local animism, Buddhism and Hinduism. Thus there are many imported figures from Hinduism and Indian culture in local religion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96