I made a video once - Original Work and my first "Decline Payout" Post!!

in #video8 years ago

One time, about three years ago, I had this idea in my head of a video that I wanted to make. I wanted to create a movie on a couple's wedding day that would start with a time lapse compilation of every single photo that Sabrina and I shot on the day, from the very first to the very last. The progression of the photos would get quicker and quicker towards the end to the point that it was just a mash of images and then as the last photo played it would immediately cut to a video. The Video section would start with the last clips of moving imagery that I took on the day, and would then sporadically jump around through parts of the day. Kinda like the way that I remember things. It's all a big mash of craziness. Then I usually remember the last thing that happened first, then I start remembering bits of the whole but in no real particular order.

Well I made the video. And the funny bit is that I didn't even tell the couple I was doing the video on the day, they only hired us for photography but they just looked really cool and I figured it was the right time. I gave them the video shortly after their wedding as a surprise and they loved it, which was cool, but even if they hadn't liked it I still enjoyed making it and I mostly did it as an artistic project for myself anyhow.

The way I came up with the idea of the video was by listening to the music that I used for it before hand. What I mean is that the song I use in the video is what inspired the making of the video itself.

The song itself is actually 1 Ghosts 2 by Nine Inch Nails from the Album Ghosts 1-4, and is used for free, and legally since that album was released using the Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial Share-Alike License. What that means is that anyone is free to use, sample, remix, share (even through file sharing and p2p sharing) copy or redistribute, so long as credit is given (attribution), the work is not used to generate a profit (non commercial), and the work you create shares the same license (share alike). Hence this will be my first ever "Decline Payout" post, though if Trent Reznor or Atticus Ross were on Steemit (which I would really love to see) I would gladly post it as a normal payout and donate anything earned to them for their hard work on this and other amazing tracks.

As a sidenote I'm also going to post this under TIL tag because I legitimately did not know until now that since I have made this video using music under that license, it has to be shared with the same license, otherwise I would be breaking the terms! So apparently this video is under the Creative Commons Attribution Non Commercial Share Alike license as well! Learn something new every day :)

PLEASE READ THIS BEFORE WATCHING!

I feel I should make a warning here that the intro to this video contains a significant amount of very fast moving / flashing imagery. It is in black and white but I know other websites that have featured this video in the past have put up a similar warning. So if you are sensitive to flashing imagery, or if that thing about flashing imagery triggering epileptic seizures is real please take note before pressing play.

If you enjoyed this post feel free to throw me one of those sweet, sweet up votes, even though it won't pay anything, you know I always appreciate them! And be sure to follow me @dexter-k on Steemit to see new original content all the time!

Thanks for reading!

Dexter

Sort:  

What a fantastic work of art. It was mesmerizing all the way through... the intro photos in black and white, the video clips in color, the dancing, the smiling, the intentional blurring. AND THAT MUSIC. So many feels, great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80