An autistic high school senior in Texas received a standing ovation after he delivered his class graduation speech

in #video6 years ago

Autistic student shocks crowd with eloquent graduation speech

«Unexpected. That is what I want you to remember. Unexpected» Plano High School senior Sef Scott opened his moving speech. Scott, who usually does not electively speak, took to the podium to deliver a touching six-minute speech

«First of all, I guess for seniors who know who I am, it's totally unexpected that I'm here doing this speech. Let me briefly explain this unexpected choice of speaker. My name is Sef Scott and I am a student with learning differences. To be more specific, I have autism and a social communication disorder» He then urged the graduating class to do the unexpected by adding «Just by being here talking to you all, what is all alone is unexpected» giving him a round of applause from the audience.

Scott shared that he meticulously planned each word of his speech with the help of his mother and brother, a nine-year-old brain tumor survivor who spends his time giving speeches to raise funds for charity . He congratulated the promotion and made some jokes by adding :

«Yes, I have autism, but I am also a smart alec. Unexpected, right?»

Awesome @AnarchoPirate

sc6ykif07ta87t400nav_bigger (1) (1) (2).gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49