God's Plan

in #viconsteem7 years ago

My parents taught me that God sometimes tests a man’s character through challenges which life often brings. This adage never rang so true for me then during training camp with the Tennessee Titans when I tore my Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) during a linebacker drill. I remembered the event like it was yesterday. It was a warm night practice three days before our first preseason game against my hometown and former team the NY Jets. We had a big crowd and the energy was high as we were gearing up for our first game. Up to that point, I was having a great training camp and all signs were positive for making the roster and helping the team make the postseason.But it was not to be in 2017.

But the lesson I learned from my parents served me well in how I responded to this difficult moment in my career. When the team doctor and trainers walked into the room and told me that my season was over due to a torn ACL, I had that sinking feeling of fear and frustration. I feared that after 2 years and 3 NFL teams my career was over before I was given the right opportunity to make the Titan’s roster. Secondly, I was frustrated because I worked so hard to get to the point where things seem to begin to turn for the better. At that moment I realized how precious the opportunity to play in the NFL was. At any moment a players dream can be snatched away from him.

However, I stared down my fears and insecurities and said to myself “I can’t go out like this, I have too much playing left in me to give up.” So at that very moment, even though it was hard, I had to focus on my recovery because that is the only thing that I could control. Whether the Titans wanted me or not, could not be my main focus of thought. The only thing I forced myself to think about was how hard I was going to work on my road back to the NFL!

The honest truth about the NFL, is that most of us won’t last more than three years. So I decided to focus on the process and not the end result. The truth is that’s what really matters anyways. I am sure when I am older and look back on my NFL career I will probably most remember the experiences I had with my teammates and coaches. So if you are chasing your dream, I know you can relate. If you are reading this post I hope this article inspires you to never give up and to focus on what you can control in your journey for success.


Sort:  

God works in awesome ways . He has a plan for everyone of us. Though he lets us choose our path.

Indeed @richard-921. Our God is so mindful and patient of us that he even explains the consequences if you choose such path. Follow him and be in the promise land or deny him, and curses and endless struggles set by the enemy strikes in.

Hoping to have great time of fellowship with you @richard-921. Shalom

amen

Thank you for the inspiration, @uvictor.ochi! I am also going through a difficult time in my life right now and need to remind myself that God's plan is better than mine. I sometimes question everything thats going on, but I know I need to trust God and his perfect timing.

I hope your recovery is going well! God Bless you!

@dubmenikki I am pray that you get through this difficult time stronger, wiser and better than ever! Trust in God and thank you for the well wishes!!! Blessings.

A story of life go the ways of God of truth that are uncertain but full of love, are proofs. And there is no proof that puts us that we can not overcome, we are children of the greatest and purest love in the universe. There is no cross that can not be loaded, you have to look ahead and always continue in spite of everything. Giving smiles and moments that is the only thing that really counts and what we have left. Greetings.

this is a powerful testimony, amen amen. true atimes we get difficult moments but at the end of the day, its God that we run too. he comforts and understands us. all things work out for the GOOD. thank you

Very inspiring post. If you have complete faith on God, He will extricate you and help you to get the sucess. Rest of things will depend on your industrious.

Congratulations @uvictor.ochi, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 9169 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1462.95. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Good article man, I know of that sinking feeling, mine was baseball and although I never made it past college ball it was coming to the realization that I would never suit up on an MLB or MiLB field. I am a firm believer in "everything happens for a reason". if i did not walk away when I did I would not have had the opportunities in my current career and would not be where I am today. That being said, if you ever have any rehab questions or need some killer workouts/warmups, let me know!
Thanks man,
-Tim

Great post Vic, appreciate you taking the time out to put together a nice message like this with a great inspirational message. You have a lot of fans pulling for you and I hope you enjoy your NFL journey and the moment to the fullest and it sounds like you are!

"...focus on what you can control..."

Yes. Why is this so often easier said than done? If we all did this instead of laying blame and responsibility on other people and things, the world would be a much better place.

Thanks for sharing. Wishing you the best with the comeback! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60811.44
ETH 2350.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52