VHS - Memoirs of an Invisible Man

in #vhs7 years ago (edited)

e00a3211-4011-4e4f-8db3-320ca28f6e4a.png


Be Kind Please Rewind

Those four words printed on a square sticker with rounded corners and stuck to the front of the videocassette would always let me know that I bought this used. Otherwise I would think I ordered it through my Columbia House membership club. The red, circular "comedy" sticker is also a giveaway.

I've always thought that Memoirs of an Invisible Man was an underrated movie from John Carpenter. It certainly was a departure from his usual horror genre.

I don't think it was very successful at the box office and that's a shame because I think there are some really cool things about it. The special effects are outstanding, especially for its time. One scene in particular is amazing to watch as Chevy Chase chews a piece of bubble gum while he's invisible.

I enjoyed how the movie mixed Chase's humour with some serious moments when dealing with the sci-fi aspect of the film. A lot of critics at the time did not have much good to say about this movie but I enjoyed it a lot.

Have you seen it? If so, did you like it?

Memoirs of an Invisible Man movie trailer


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

I'm a huge Chase fan. Somehow missed this classic. On it now. Your rental spot was like a cinema portal to adventure.

I hope you like it.

Chase plus Carpenter as director was an unusual pairing. I like Chase and John Carpenter is on my list of top 5 favourite directors. It's too bad this disappeared from theaters sooner than it should have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63