When the demons began.

in #veterans6 years ago

IMGP0119.JPG

The last few posts I have been giving a small taste into me and mining's overall entrance scene into cryptocurrency. Now for you to understand the overall effect that this space has on me and my everyday life. You need to understand my demons which I have a lot of! Again I’m not gonna try to write a novel but information is key to the crypto space as well understanding my journey thus far, we have a lot to cover on this roller coaster I call life. This is the first of many posts to reflect my experience with battling PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) in which I hope to help myself keeping this personal blog.

IMGP0192.JPG

I'm a very transparent person. I'm not the type to put on a front in any situation, for any reason or for any person except my kids because most times our children need to see our strength to persevere over the hard times. So anything you read here will be 100% genuine and 100% MY experience. When I returned from Iraq in 2007 I was hurting, bad! Going through repossessing back into the states I received my first pain killer prescription for my back and hip injuries. Fast forward to getting out of the military completing my contract in 2009, severely addicted to opiates, PTSD riddled, TBI, in constant pain, the whole shabang. Starts 7 years of addiction, Veterans Affairs also refused to continue Army's treatment for pain management and then to the black market was the path. This time frame consisted of dead end jobs that I couldn't adjust to working. Just overall felt out of place no direction, not needed, and overall worthless! Started looking at how I was living and it clicked, I needed to get clean! I had a good job and I wanted to continue there so I kicked the pill habit for a management position at a baseball stadium. The following season guaranteed a job, I called to get a schedule to find out I no longer had a position as the warehouse manager or any job for that fact. Although I was good at it and I lost it, relapsed but this time moved onto Heroine by snorting. Which ultimately led to me going to an out patient rehab in 2013 and joined the Veterans Affair suboxone clinic, spent 2 years in the program with therapies; yada yada. Then I was taken off it, what followed was 6 months of suboxone withdraw. I have now been off suboxone since 2015 with no opiates since, but that whole ordeal is for another post.

P8275183.JPG

Currently it has been 5 years since I went into outpatient rehab and 2 years since have stopped Suboxone. NO RELAPSES though I smoke marijuana because it truly is a miracle drug for ptsd. I have been trying prescription anxiety medications from the Veterans Affair as well but they have not been working. Nothing but negative effects on all of them. Some have been pretty serious! I have severe anxiety from everything and i'm a home body. I hate the thought of huge crowds and me in the middle of them. It's exhausting to go out somewhere because I see everything especially while driving. There's more to this problem I have then the eye can see or read. Yet I'm experimenting here publicly for you all to see or read so to say. I hope that I've helped you understand a little about me. More to come.

Thanks for reading,

@veteranforcrypto
Follow me on twitter @ Veteran4Crypto

Sort:  

Its always nice to see human stories on this platform. Good luck with your goals, just taking one day at a time is the hardest part. God bless you and the republic you defended.

I think it's amazing that you are sharing your journey so openly. In my experience living with a veteran who suffered with PTSD talking, sharing, writing... they helped him. The nightmares have mostly stopped and he doesn't "go away" nearly as often as he used to. It's a long journey, love. Just keep putting one step in front of the other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70