The Beginning of a new purpose.

in #veterans6 years ago

image-bitcoinmining3-5a5ecd99482c52003b573477.jpg

Well to start today I am going to give you a taste of what started my love for Cryptocurrency, that's right if you didn't guess it on your own Bitcoin got me excited for crypto. Little agonizing aspect to it, I wanted to get lots of BTC 2010 time frame but I had no idea where to get it and doubts on the vision or path it truly had. I decided not to, kicking my self in the ass for that one to say the least lol. Years later, I started to do some research on mining myself. In April 2017 I put forth the process. I started with an old school 3 GPU rig I had gotten from a friend whose father mined back in the early days (wish we could find his private key) he passed away, my buddy not wanting to spend the time to learn I took it off his hands for free!

19029503_10213944919717499_63703342649120339_n.jpg

I had to learn ubuntu which I still hate! I started mining Litecoin as it was most profitable at the time, well the rig became to difficult to keep running, constant problems with the OS every time I fixed one thing another went wrong so I sold the GPUS and I bought my first miner a Bitmain S1. Yes, I started VERY small. As well as a Bitmain S3, to most a very small mining setup followed by 3x gridseed orbs and then a Gridseed 80chip miner. All this from $0 spent of my own money! A pattern started happening, I was enjoying something again which with PTSD can sometimes be impossible. It filled a void in me that not even my family was able to fill, along with not even being able to determine what the void was. This became my new passion. With a heightened purpose and a way to make some cash along the way. Going through the regular maintenance miners require, and it just so happens its that time again for me do some. Check out the next post to see the steps I endure for a cleaning session of the minors I use.

Thank you for your time,

@veteranforcrypto

IMG_0622.jpg

Sort:  

Just like everybody, when we hear about cryptocurrencies and the new technology people immediately associate it to BTC.
Thank´s to BTC we are growing up, but this world is much bigger and the Blockchain technology is revolutionary.

Hope you can find your friend's father private key!!

Well said! We are indeed apart of something revolutionary, something that will truly leave its mark in history.
We hope as well its a real life treasure hunt!

Man that's quite a setup you've got there!

Its like gambling and chasing the jackpot! Gotta chase more speed but both cost $$$ portfolio isn't fat enough yet haha

how much energy does it take? does the cost of running the system more than pay for the mining?

and... you should do a series of posts "How to become a miner" hehehehe
really! i would think that would be so cool!!! i want to do it - but i haven't a clue where to start! and i don't know if it would cost more than it would be worth??? but this INTRIGUES me! i wanna know more! :)

I will be making plenty more posts on the subject and more, as well i can post some realistic numbers on mining. Stick around will have another post soon, kids been super needy today or would have another post done already haha

hahahahaha well i'm needy too!!!! help me toooooooo! ;)

i'm following you already - but feel free to @ me in a comment (or even leave me a note on a comment of mine!) if you don't see me comment on your latest post! i don't mind nudges! i actually prefer them so i can stay in the loop hehehehe

I love this!!!!! I know absolutely nothing about crypto... well - i do know enough to know that I WISH YOU COULD FIND HIS KEY TOO!!! aghhhhhh that's heartbreaking!!!

but what a fun adventure so far! I'll definitely be keeping an eye on your journey hehehe maybe i'll actually learn something along the way!!!

and i'm glad that this is a great hobby to enjoy - despite your PTSD!

I gave you an upvote - but right now it's so small!!! just a penny or two. So please enjoy this tip! :)

Hi @veteranforcrypto! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @dreemsteem :)

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Clever Pirates, Ye Be!!!! Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

Congratulations @veteranforcrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95