Cleaning day! And profitability BTC mining?

in #veterans6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0626.jpg

Maintenance is a huge part of owning and operating Miners. I try to take them off line once a month even though I do get to busy with kids and regular adulting lol. Really it is quite simple to clean them and get them back online but you have to make sure you get them clean! While making sure you are static free to not fry the boards. One of the big reasons, these miners cause fires are poor cleaning. Now there is heat sink gel that can be applied under the heat sinks, but that doesn’t have to be done as often. As you haves fans sucking all the dust around into the heat sinks, which can build up pretty good; pictures as example. Side note: you can try to build a minimum dust room or space for these but I don’t mind cleaning nor have the room myself to do so yet. Cant forget those PSU’s either. Tip: A vacuum works wonders on the heat sinks with caution.

IMG_0627.jpg

Now that cleaning is done lets talk a little about Mining and Profitability. I have a very small set up compared to other miners and especially big mining company's. The Bitmain S1 I have is the very first model of its kind an ASIC miner 180gh/s not very much in this mining world. Accompanied by an Bitmain S3 which is 480gh/s both miners give or take gh/s. They each use about 400 watts of power, for both 800ish watts combined, that's not bad as I have space heaters that take more electricity then that for 1 heater. Now depending on your price of kw/h you may be able to make that profitable with different coins but for Bitcoin it will not be. Bitcoin cash is barely profitable but only cents for me. Mining for me is a small hobby so paying the electric to help the block-chain and get some crypto along the way is not a bad deal. I as-well have 6.5-8.0mh/s worth of scrypt miners mining altcoins but that's for a different post hehe. But overall mining is what your willing to put into it money wise cause the more speed you want the more expensive it is. If I had got Bitcoin in the beginning I would have my own farm mining! To dream some day I guess haha.

IMG_0628.jpg

There's a lot more information your gonna need to know, so for the best results and knowledge before entering this space; research, research, research. Know your electricity cost and know the coin difficulty your trying to mine. There are plenty of calculators out there to give you an idea of what to expect. Most importantly, know your budget overall don’t over extend. Until next time enjoy your day.

Thanks for reading,

@veteranforcrypto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63