You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Military Hand-to-Hand Combat Training

in #veterans7 years ago

Ah, good ol' MCMAP. This video gave me a good laugh. "Hammer-fist! Marine Corps!" Even in boot camp (Paris Island), we didn't do as much MCMAP as someone would think. Once we got to the fleet (1/9, infantry unit), we rarely kept up with any kind of hand-to-hand fighting. The unit as a whole didn't really care if you had a green belt either. Just that you were deployable. We did it occasionally, but more as a PT standard, or if we were bored. It's funny that they say it's "saving lives over there," but, as a combat veteran who has taken part in the craziness of combat, we were NEVER close enough to have to worry about any kind of hand-to-hand fighting. The Cobra pilots, the artillery guys were saving our lives over there. (Though I'm sure there's the >1%'rs that have). I mean, in Afghanistan, when we were out on patrols, we were loaded down with 80-pounds of crap, which makes so many of these movements impractical. You never see any of these demonstrations with a Soldier or Marine with full combat load and loaded rifle. It's a check in the box. Civilians love this kind of stuff though.

Although, I did have a buddy go though the Marine Corps Martial-Arts Instructor Course while I was going through Machinegun Leaders Course, and I remember seeing him getting smoked, all day. That's what it is, an all-day haze fest with a high drop-out rate. That course is no joke, physically and mentally.

Either way, rant over, I've been enjoying your posts!

Sort:  

What a joke! Ha Ha I remember when it first came out. I was in Okinawa and studying Go Ju Ryu at an Okinawan Dojo. When we were "learning" this, I thought it was a joke, hell it still is. It WILL get a PFC's ass kicked out in a bar fight. That is for certain! When I retired, I got to green and said no more wasting time. I got trucks to fix.

Later bro and SF!

Kenny
Pfeiler Family Farm

FYI if you are ever in the KC area let me know. Always good to be around family!

I know, right?! Well met and Semper Fi! I'm 3 hours south of KC, just south of Springfield! Boondocks homestead, out in the Mark Twain.

Ok cool. We just moved here in August and bought the farm. Shifting gears from fixing trucks and leading Marines to now gardening and will be leading goats and chickens! Ha Ha.

That's exactly what we're doing!! Got some land and have been at it for the last three-plus years now. There's a pretty robust homesteading community here if you haven't already found it. @goldendawne is one of the moderators. I actually wrote a little poem about it, From Machinegun Marine to Grateful Gardner .

thank you for the mention!!! Yes, any questions you may have or if you'd like to join our Discord group, just let me know!

Thanks man! We have a lot more coming your way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37