"Extreme Weather" May 2018 Veteran's Contest 10 SBD in prizes!

in #veterans6 years ago

Mopping up Rain

(Photo courtesy of https://imgur.com/gallery/cvj6oCU )

As tornado and hurricane season are starting up here in the US, it gave me an idea for another story contest for my fellow veterans here on Steemit. At some point in your military career, you've probably experienced some kind of extreme weather. Whether it be rain, snow, heat, cold, dust, or something else, I'm sure we've all faced some "extreme".

This month our story contest will be "extreme weather" related. Share a story about a time when you experienced some crazy weather and how it affected your mission. Maybe you were deployed in response to a natural disaster and helped with cleanup efforts. Any story "extreme weather" related while you were in the military would be great!

Rules

  • Must be a verified veteran or service member (see @chairborne's followed list)
  • Upvote and resteem this post
  • Post your story on your steemit blog
  • Leave a link to your post in a comment below

The person with the most total upvotes on their comment here will win. First place wins 5 SBD, second place wins 3 SBD, and third place wins 2 SBD. The contest ends in 7 days when this post is paid out. If you have any questions, please contact @rakkasan84 on discord.

Good luck to everyone and I look forward to reading your stories!

vet tag.png

Sort:  

Here is a link to my post.
https://steemit.com/veterans/@basicstoliving/dust-storms-in-iraq-when-i-was-deployed
They were extreme to us when we where there.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Is it ok if I ask my dad (also a veteran) to re-tell (and then I post) his extreme weather story? Other than the usual storms/rough seas on deployment, I'm currently stumped for an "extreme" weather story of my own :(

How do we get set up for the @shadow3scalpel bot?

You're on the list, so you should already be set up.

Is there anything else I have to do to get the upvote from @shadow3scalpel? Do I have to submit a link anywhere or anything? I haven't received any upvotes from it yet

I will kindly ask our bot manager again to hard code your name into the list. While you are here posting on an active veteran's contest it would nice if you would show some support for your fellow veterans. We actively drop people that only come around for the upvotes and don't support their fellow vets.

Of course I will. Just trying to get some questions answered and make sure I’m doing this correctly. I’m married to a Vet, I’ve received volunteer of the year for the VFW. It’s not that I won’t support, I’m not that kind of douche bag. But yes, kindly, I will do what I’ve always done. Thank you for looking into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82