You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Proposal ... For the Military Veterans of Steemit

in #veterans6 years ago

@rakkasan84,

Rakkasan, that's not encouraging feedback, especially knowing that it comes from someone as involved as yourself in trying to organize the troops.

Admittedly, I am not surprised by the sentiment. I have noticed a tendency amongst veterans to fall into one of two camps:

The first group is like me and @derangedvisions ... and, I suspect, you. The military indelibly stamped us with something that was life-defining. 25+ years later, the label, "veteran," is wholly unfamiliar to me. I don't think of myself as a veteran at all. I am a soldier. It is as much part of my self-definition as my name. My entire moral and ethical structure is built upon the classic military honor system. I've often recounted to my daughter that the years I spent in uniform were the best, and worst, times of my life. Despite some unpleasant memories, for me, the former made a far greater impression than did the latter.

Alas, the second group I would describe as "cynics." The military seems to have indelibly stamped them with something life-defining as well. Something about the same experience has left them bitter about humanity, and life in general. They're angry, and seemingly, angry about everything. And, this is not PTSD. I've noticed it amongst veterans who never saw combat. More than anything, they seem inclined to criticize and complain. There is no transcendent idea, ideal or insight. There is nothing about which one might be inspired. They're unhappy and seem determined to remain so. This is not intended as a criticism, merely an observation.

In any event, I created the post to take the temperature. I spent a lot of time crafting it, and doubt I could do better upon revision. So, if it doesn't inspire vets to coalesce, then I guess nothing will. I guess we'll just have to wait and see. Perhaps we'll be surprised.

For what's it's worth, I am very appreciative of your efforts and the efforts of those trying to organize a veteran community. I also love that Humvee that now shows up on all my posts.

I'm going to be revising my GinaBot settings (once I remember where I put the code that let's me do that). When I do, I'll include @guiltyparties' list of daily vet posts. Gina is my boss and determines my daily routine. Let me know if there's anything you guys need and I'll do my best to help out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70786.17
ETH 3822.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50