RIP SGT Michael Barkey 7-7-2004

in #veterans7 years ago (edited)


Well, Buddy. It's this day again. The day you left us thirteen years ago. It never gets easier.

I'll always remember the day we passed that mangled five-ton truck on Highway 1 with our unit's identifier displayed clearly on the bumper. We knew it was bad. The drive around Lake Habbaniyah were the longest hours of my life. Time seemed to pass in slow motion.

Arriving back at Al Taqaddum we still had to unload our trucks before they gave us the news. Damn funny ain't it.

When they called us into formation you could feel the tension in the air. Captain Brown asked us to come in closer to him and I remember the list of names of the injured being read. Then we were told we had lost you.

I remember Darcie running to the back of the formation. I remember it was like the world stopped.

Well Mikey, the world still turns freely.
But on July 7, my world always stops for you.
I miss you Brother

Sort:  

Thank you for posting this, we laid my dad to rest today, fought in WWII for the US Navy.

You are welcome @unclemike. Condolences on your Dad. I bet you have some great stories to tell. It's going to be a super sad day for America when the last WWII Vet is gone. I only hope the world captures their stories and tells them for generations to come.

I feel so much your loss, also lost my grandmother, it has been the hardest thing for me to do because she raised me. But keep in mind, only die when you forget! 🌹

You will be in my prayers @danieladosp. I do agree they only die when we forget. I started the Hamburger Saint Project here on Steemit to remember Barkey by. The next #payitforward gift post should be up by the account @boxcarblue within the next few days.

Thanks for sharing

You are welcome

You should talk to a historian or an author and start to write a book. Seriously, that was some good stuff.

I thought I replied to this post but it must not have gone through for some reason. I've never thought about that. I have been writing down more things lately because as I get older I am learning we do start to forget things, lol. Thanks for the suggestion.

I am sorry for your loss, man.
This is the true reality of war. We should always remember that.

It truly is. War was sanitized when the U.S. administration forbid pictures of wounded troops or shutter a dead service man's body. In Vietnam, when the populace was bombarded with these sights it caused many to turn against the idea of war. Currently, it's out of sight...out of mind. Americans need to see this. Let's remember...it's not the soldiers who start a war, it's the politicians and we need to start holding them more accountable for where they send our military.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.44 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

He must have been a great guy to cause such a reaction and lasting impression on those who served beside him. My condolences on this anniversary of remembrance :S

He really was @foodie.warrior and thanks for your condolences.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68