The Liberal orthodoxy is that law doesn't matter.

in #veterans3 years ago

image.png

It’s Veterans’ Day in the USA. I heard that a high proportion of homeless men are veterans, veterans of the Vietnam War on the street and suffering. It's Remembrance Day up here in Canada. But it seems to me that the whole nation is into Forgetting just about everything our veterans of World War II died for, the decency and freedom we used to have.

I stood at a crossroads in August of 2018 where I saw clearly what road I had been on most of my life without really considering it and I saw clearly that the road had forked and I had to take the one less travelled.

I’m remembering the Kavanaugh confirmation hearings. Christine Blasey-Ford lying (that she didn't instruct her bestie Monika McLean how to fake a polygraph test so she could get her job with the FBI) and being caught in that lie by prosecutor Rachel Mitchell. I learned so much about Christine's crowd up in Palo Alto that all came out with placards saying We Believe You when nobody with an objective eye on the actual Committee proceedings could possibly believe her. And the utter rottenness of Diane Feinstein and Maxine Waters and Cory Booker was so exposed; these people incited to riot and the riot was duly instigated at their orders! All those Woke/Antifa young hired fanatics invading the Capitol yelling at senators, making Jan 6/21 look like a school tour and yet not one was prosecuted. I'll remember that. And I remember trying to discuss this with my liberal friends and their heads were completely numb. They had no arguments beyond the boilerplate Democrat talking points so they ended up yelling at me. They had nothing but bigotry in their heads, bigotry they were unaware of. Hate Trump, hate Kavanaugh, hate all the Americans who voted for Trump, they were all idiots, all monsters. It was like the Two Minutes of Hate from 1984. This was the real content of the Liberal mind-set, not love, hate. I was enlightened!

Here's what I wrote in Aug 2018 that got me shunned by my Liberal/Democrat relatives back east:

"I have found it impossible to explain to liberal minded people what presumption of innocence means and how essential it is. These people are just not able to think about it at all. They don't get the difference between feeling and thinking. It's really disturbing.

The Senate Committee hired Rachel Mitchell, a prosecutor of 25 years experience who specialized in sex-related criminal cases, to inquire into Dr Ford's allegations and offer an assessment. This she did and she has published a memorandum of that assessment to all Republican senators. She writes:

"In the legal context, here is my bottom line: A "he said she said" case is incredibly difficult to prove. But this case is even weaker than that. Dr Ford identified other witnesses to the event, and those witnesses either refuted her allegations or failed to corroborate them. For the reasons discussed below, I do not think a reasonable prosecutor would bring this case based on the evidence before the Committee. Nor do I believe that this evidence is sufficient to satisfy the preponderance-of-the-evidence standard.”

As I understand it, satisfying the preponderance-of-the-evidence standard means that the weight and quantity of evidence on the side of the plaintive makes it likely that the offense took place. Dr Ford's allegations don't even come up to this standard in the opinion of Ms Mitchell. Mitchell's experience and judgement after 25 years as a prosecutor specializing in just such cases as Dr Ford's demand respect."

Rachel Mitchell must have been aware that the FBI had received a sworn affidavit from Christine Blasey's old boyfriend testifying under oath (It’s a federal crime to lie to the FBI) that he saw Christine instruct Monika McLean how to fake a polygraph. That's why Mitchell specifically asked Blasey-Ford whether she'd ever done that so that Blasey-Ford would have to lie to the Committee, a crime if the Senate chooses to prosecute her for perjury. This was the moment when the Democrat case exploded and they knew it.

I literally could not make my friends understand what the law means. The Liberal orthodoxy is that law doesn't matter, it's all power anyway so law is meaningless. That was a BIG fork in the road for me! Those people are useless, worse than useless as a defence against the tyranny they think they are the opposition to. I am no longer capable of respecting these people at all. Moderate Liberals really are on the same road that leads directly to the worst excesses of the Woke fanatics.

I’m going to keep my body undefiled by experimental injections. And I’m going to wait and see what will happen to those who don’t. And I’m going further down the road of respecting and holding traditional Canadian values, those protected by our laws and our Charter. No matter how lonely that road may seem right now, I believe it will be a less lonely road soon. I’ll have company. I already do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57241.75
ETH 2428.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40