You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meniere's Disease: From a College Student's Eyes

in #vertigo6 years ago

Adam,

Thanks for sharing your story. I was also diagnosed with MD, though I don't know if I really buy it. I've dealt with ringing in my right ear since my college days because I used to go to too many rock concerts.

The attacks didn't start until 2010, maybe 2011. I wouldn't get much warning, maybe a slight wooshing sound, and BAM - I was off my rocker in a bad way. It has happened at work a few times, luckily there were usually co-workers were here because I often worked evenings and weekends alone. Only once did I have to figure out how to dial out on a phone during an attack which was very difficult because the numbers on the phone pad were impossible to see. Similar to what you've described; puking up everything until nothing is left, then the heaves...ugh. Then sweating profusely, then the shivers. Luckily for me after about 15-20 minutes I'd usually find a bed and so long as I kept my eyes closed and did not move I could usually fall asleep, utterly exhausted. Terrible memories.

Thankfully I haven't had any attacks in over a year. I've had the blood pressure medication, or diuretic, but was never really a big fan of that. I was given Valium and told to take that if I ever feel an attack coming on. Seriously? If I feel an attack coming on I have about five seconds to buckle up and get ready for the ride. I've tried taking the valium but it never stays down more than a couple of minutes.

All of that to say, I still have ringing in just one ear and likely will for the rest of my life. The good news I want to share with you is this; my episodes have nearly disappeared. I still have to be careful to not binge on sodium-rich foods (such as boneless wings from Applebee's, which I attribute to my last two episodes a few years back), but other than that I have been episode free for quite some time. I hope you're able to say the same, too.

Regards,
David

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47