Ewe on Guard

in #verse7 years ago

You talk of me in secrets
In the depths of shadows hidden
While nightmares of pandemonium
They wake me to false threats
As the dogs howl and bark
Deep sleep escapes me
To too many wakings
Has a fire started we burn
Your pain is from abuse not mine
I check and fall asleep
And the nightmares start again
Finally the morning dawns whole
And bright and the struggle for old coffee
From yesterday or days ago
I pull the dogs back from her
Dogs eat things while they live
The dogs do not kill like wolves
They trap and feast until it dies
So I saw her bitten and a coyote pack
Them I heard and I knew
So, I checked the tires before you drove away
And then gave me a task to do
I walked down the dirt road
A driveway very long and lonely
With you gone I turned left
And walked down into the great gulley
Of a creek that was a huge river
Somewhere back in time
Down and around the bend
You were there not a lamb
But ewe where she said you were
Why did you cross the barrier
Or at least try when water and feed
Is behind you and your butt is to it
Where did you come from anyway
And how do you know so much
But remain hidden from my touch
I leashed you like a dog
So you would not run away
Even I with my huge feet
Was careful on the grate
Not to be caught or fall as you
You had a hernia from the night's struggle
A part of your belly was big and round
Bulged out in a way that might be
Danger as I pulled ewe from the guard
Once I had her in my arms
She struggled and tried to kick free
I put her on the water side
The side with tender grass
The shade of trees and big tall reeds
But to the sage she ran forward and left
I know that when the flow went by
Ewe she was left behind
Will have to live alone til fall
When down road west
Shepherds walk the wind
If she lives til then
Like any ewe alone and in the vast
She will rejoin the flock at winter
From lone lamb to ewe home at last
Sheep I know could have them here
A lamb I want to see
On a road that is usually covered with nails
But today there were none to see
A lamb with trees and nails
Sometimes I think it's a ghost
I saw what I thought was another
Dead sheep where the ewe ran off to
But it was only a plastic discarded
Bag where the wind had sent it blew
Why hide there so far from water
Why did you run away
I pulled you from the cattle guard
With no thanks you ran away
To know a friend who will save you
Is the most hard thing to do
And now I know that animals have
The hardest time with it too.
A nightmare wakes us from sleep

Sort:  

and then there are the poems? I liked

Beautiful work dear friend @ jeff-kubitz congratulations
Have a great weekend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36