Verpa Mushrooms? My Foraging Experience

in #verpa5 years ago

I went foraging yesterday with a new friend I have met, who has the land that we can garden on.

He seems like a very nice man and i'm enjoying my time at his place.

He recommended that we go foraging for stinger nettle and verpa mushrooms, so we went in the provincial park for a few hours and found a lot. Towards the end, when we were deep in the woods, off the beaten trail, and we were trying to get out of there, I started to panic a little.

I was thinking why did I agree to this, and I hardly know this person and now i'm lost in the woods and I have no idea where I am and how to get out of there. I get paranoid sometimes and I can make up scenarios in my mind. Then I heard someone shouting out us and it was a park ranger who told us to come out of the woods. We did and he said we're not allowed to forage in the park. He let us away with a warning.

I have never heard of these mushrooms before and it was all new to me.

I arrived home and cooked them up with some onions, beans and rice, and made lettuce tacos, with tomato, avocado, yogurt with turmeric, cheese and lime, it tasted so delicious.

After I ate my meal I decided I would do some research on these mushrooms and then I read some information saying that these are called false morels, and they are toxic and deadly for some people, who can have a very bad reaction.

I read other information that says they are fine and just need to be cooked properly and when you cook them you have to ensure to keep the fan on because it gives off toxic fumes.

I was thinking how foolish I was for eating these mushroom without researching first and wondering if I was going to live through this. At first I was a little alarmed, but after awhile I just accepted that whatever happens, happens, and i'm just glad that I didn't feed them to anyone else.

I'm still fine today with no adverse symptoms.

Does anyone know about these Verpa mushrooms and have you tried them? It's hard to find reliable information on the internet.

There is a link below that shows what they look like. Thanks for your help

https://images.app.goo.gl/p3NNaR4XFWoTymxA9

Sort:  

Those look like Morels. I'd cook them before eating them. I got a couple old mushroom blogs I posted last year of wild edible mushrooms I found here in the Ozarks. Most of them I found were Boletes.
https://steemit.com/nature/@hippie-witha-gun/foraging-for-fungus-more-wild-edible-mushrooms-found-in-the-ozarks

Thanks so much for the helpful information. I going to check out your blogs. I would love to eat them again because they were so tasty and I have a good supply of them too. I had such an amazing time foraging on the land, I would like to gain more skills in recognizing edible food and plants and your info will help me gain more knowledge. Wishing you peace, health and happiness:)

Thank you! I actually made the mistake last year and ate a couple of the small Boletes I found raw as I was exploring the woods finding all of those. They pretty much "Rota-Rooted" me HA HA. For 5 hours all I did was sweat, vomit, and had real bad diarrhea. Then I read in the book, cook them BEFORE you eat them. I'm glad it was a warning and they didn't kill me. So be very careful when eating these.

Hmmm, I think I got a future "Rainbow Man's Shitty Spiritual Advice" blog for the future now regarding mushrooms and this incident HA HA.

No never heard of them before.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47