Vermeer's 'Girl with a Pearl Earring' - a photographic ode

in #vermeer6 years ago

girl pearl earring.jpg

Johannes Vermeer's iconic 1665 painting of 'A Girl with a Pearl Earring' has been copied in paint and photography many times but that didn't stop me from taking a crack at it myself. My 14-year old niece, Samantha, agreed to pose for me and I dressed her up with some scraps of colored cloth and her dad's suede jacket. The lighting was done with a single Yongnuo YN-560 IV flash mounted inside a softbox and held above and to the left to emulate the window light that illuminated Vermeer's subject.

The original painting resides in the Mauritshuis museum in The Hague, Netherlands. Here's the original (photo credit: Mauritshuis, via Wikipedia):
Meisje_met_de_parel wiki.jpg

Sort:  

Release the Kraken! You got a 1.32% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @cavesson!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54