Discovered on Canvas

in #venice6 years ago (edited)

Venice.

It was everything I had imagined it would be and more, definitely one of my best holidays. 

It was in Venice that I decided to paint. Surrounded by such beautiful buildings mixed with a real sense of history, this dormant passion to paint started to reveal itself.


Making a start

Having started with acrylic paints I soon discovered that acrylics were not working for me. I couldn't paint in the detail that I wanted, nor could I get the blend of colours right. Looking back, it was lack of skill and patience.

Losing Heart

I was beginning to lose heart when a local artist encouraged me to try oils. So with renewed interest, I bought some oil paints to try and absolutely loved them. I felt that connection with the painting at last.

My adventure with art had begun and I had come to the place where all I wanted to do was to paint the Venice that had first inspired me.

I knew that it was going to be a very steep learning curve and I may not even achieve the results I was looking for. But I just wanted to try, to see what I would discover on canvas.










So using the old grid system to plot the drawing. I was now on my way.

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65