Ways to Help People in Venezuela During This Crisis...

in #venezuela6 years ago

sos.jpg

Image Source


Not as Easy as You May Think...


There is currently a staggering humanitarian crisis in Venezuela, you name it, Venezuela is short of it: Meat, fish, fruits, sugar, bread, medicine, any supplies you can imagine. where citizens don’t have enough food to eat or medicine to cure the most common diseases.

Why this is happening is very long and hard to explain and I don’t have the energy to do it so I will just leave here the same news articles as always I try to explain the situation here Aljazeera, BBC, ABC.

I do this post cause I like chatting with people from around the world and when they ask me where im from or if we are having a conversation as simple as they saying “I just have a coup of coffee” and then I remember I didn’t have any coffee in fact I haven’t had any for over a month cause is way to expensive to buy and tell them that, they are surprise and always ask me about the situation in my country and the common question always is “what can we do to help people in need over there?” cause I may complaint about not drinking coffee but there are people here who doesn’t have any food to eat so… I could have it worst thankfully is not my case.

So how to answer the “what can we do to help people in need in Venezuela?” question? I always end up saying I don’t really know how, then I decided I should probably do some research and do a post about my findings to make sure I have a right answer for that question and that way I could help people in need in here too.

I spend most of the day procrastinating and end up falling sleep on top of my computer and all, then I did my research and I just couldn’t find a good way for people to send help here (food, medicine, other supplies) you see the problem is that the government is not allowing any humanitarian help send to us from any country so all the official help you would want to find is nonexistent, so what most people are doing is just supporting crowdfunding campaigns in GoFundMe and other platforms and donating food, medicine and other supplies to people collecting them in different countries to send it to Venezuela through private services of international parcels and delivery.

But here is where is gets tricky you’ll see cause how can you trust that those people collecting money are actually sending it to Venezuelans in need or using it the right way, or the people collecting the supplies how can we be sure they are sending those to the country and not selling them or else? Is just too complicated to actually recommend a good crowdfunding or collecting of donations cause I don’t know the people behind it and I can say if they are honest people or just scammers.

So here is what I decided to put in this post as ways to help people in Venezuela if you want to, that I got from La Patilla 6 ways you can help us:

1.- Collaborate in #crowdfunding campaigns. There are many donation campaigns and money collection to help hospitals, orphanages, to operate children, animal protection, among others.

I know I said is though to actually know what crowdfunding campaigns to support without getting scammed but you can do the research and talk to the people behind it and ask for proof of delivery of the donations made before you made a new one, I will not recommend one in this post cause I will leave it after you to do the findings and trusting on the people behind it, please be safe and always do research before donating.

2.- Collect or send medicines and supplies. If you have how, buy medicines and send what you can. Make collections, there are always people who want to support, even companies that do not charge shipments to Venezuela if they are donations from foundations.

So this is the best way you can help, actually doing the collections yourself and shipping them to people in need in here, the important part to be safe here your donations will get to the right people here would be to get to know people of Venezuela and talk to them and see their behavior and ask for proof of need like for medications you could ask for a doctor’s recipe first and that way you could be sure that that person needs that medicine in particular.

3.- Spread truthful information. Every day we read false news that only makes the situation worse. Do not share information that has not been published or verified by reliable sources.

Don’t believe everything everyone says do the research first.

4.- Explain to your acquaintances what happens in Venezuela. Find out what is happening so you can explain to your acquaintances abroad. Read and investigate.

The more people are in the know, the more help we could get here and maybe the government will be under more pressure to let that help get to us.

5.- Participate in the concentrations. Go to the rallies, support, exchange numbers, get organized with others, always verify that they are meaningful protests.

Cause of the crisis a lot of Venezuelans are leaving the country so it doesn’t matter what part of the world you are, you could always find someone from Venezuela there. And believe me there will be protests going on all over the world organized by those Venezuelans so that is a good way to help.

6.- Do cyber-activism. Search in Venezuela reliable sources of information, disseminate news, videos, use the advantage of the internet. Help with the truth.

Make more than one friend from Venezuela talk to people in here, get to know us and just listen to us that is a good way to help


Please keep in mind that we don’t always are asking for money when we talk of the problems we are having here, sometimes we just want to vent and yell to the world cause the situation in here is so stressful we just need to do that, so being a friend that just is there to listen is a very good way to help!


Like always thank you so much for reading me and
I look forward to reading your comments!


vic.png

Sort:  

Te apoyo en esta excelente iniciativa

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VictoriaBSB from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It’s a shame that the government isn’t allowing aid. What kind of insane tyranny is that.

well exactly! they won't allow aids cause that would mean having to accept the fact that we are in a crisis and they wont do that cause the still try to make people believe we live in Narnia and everything is ok in here

We know people from Venezuela and our hearts go out to what is going in. There are a number of charities that are in Steemit that are supporting the Venezuelans but we can do more!

there is always more to do yes! please talk to the people you know from Venezuela and help in any way you can!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87