You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Empire Files: Abby Martin in Venezuela - Supermarkets to Black Markets

in #venezuela7 years ago

Thanks for sharing this information, which dramatically added to what I knew about the situation in Venezuela. I have watched some videos of protests here on Steemit, and I thought that was the whole of the story.

I was unsettled when I watched them because the police were not violent. Here in the US, police are very violent. In the Venezuelan opposition videos I saw, even when they were being assaulted with molotov cocktails, stones, and IEDs, the police did not return fire, did not bust heads, and talked - they talked to the protestors throwing rocks.

Now I know why.

Thanks.

Sort:  

oh.. but they have killed more than 90 people. Smashed a lot of heads, and illegally detained more than 1500 people, sexual abuse from the police and national guard officials have been reported among the youngest women detained. There are even more police brutality videos than there are non...

There's actually a Mayor General detained that got his back broken by torture techniques, it is publicly known information here (but not by the media) this is a tweet from his daughter, those private "media owners" that they talk about in the video are all part of a money laundry scheme that comes down from the government itself. That TeleSur video was paid with cocaine money. Please don't believe everything you see without properly researching it. Best regards.

Not believing everything I see is why it is important to see more, to enable one to assemble some validity to support an opinion. While I noted that in the opposition videos I did find, the police seemed far less prone to violence than police in America, I had no context whatsoever, as the wholly owned media here in the US completely ignores the larger (and peaceful) pro-government protests.

This is the first time I have seen ANY video that even reports that there ARE such demonstrations.

I have very little information to go on, and recognize that ALL of it is propaganda. The man-on-the-street interviews, and hidden camera footage is therefore particularly useful to me in forming a basis for some validity for having an opinion on the issues.

Perhaps you might post more videos, and rather than slant them politically, show fair reporting showing both sides of the issue, for folks like me that are trying to find sources of news they can trust.

If the facts do support your cause, you will win support by being impartial - the most scarce of media species today, and the facts will be judged by viewers to generate informed opinions.

Thanks for providing new information I have not seen before, but must judge critically, as you clearly have an agenda, and are not impartial.

I agree with you in the "have to see more". Keep on being hungry for information. At the end there's no true truth but the one formed by opinions, facts, beliefs. The fact you haven't seen the police being violent doesn't mean they are not. The police seems less prone to violence when they know they're being filmed, when there's media coverage, but still:

Shot dead. Those steps he made were his final ones.

And I could keep on posting videos and photos all night long.

I appreciate the videos. I'd appreciate them more if they included the approach to the deaths, as the context in which they occurred is but implied. Clearly there are pitched battles ongoing. I have seen IEDs used against the police.

It is impossible to know more than that there are violent clashes, and that people are dying, absent the specific context of the killings.

Regardless, it's a bad time to be in Venezuela. I am sure that many wish for little more than an end to the violence. That's what most people end up wanting shortly after an uprising begins. It was the case during the American revolution. Only about a third of the people were revolutionaries, the rest being either loyalists, or staying out of the way.

Gabriela979 Angélica Vivas tweeted @ 16 Jul 2017 - 00:29 UTC

Hoy un MISERABLE funcionario del SEBIN mientras lastimaba a mi hermana le dijo: " veras a tu papá el General Vivas EN EL CEMENTERIO"

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62067.61
ETH 2414.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57