You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Venezuela Airport | I still have hope

in #venezuela7 years ago

Beautifully written. I've just returned from Nepal where I had the privilege of interviewing a number of inspirational young people who face a similar decision, although not nearly as extreme as Venezuela. Should I stay or join the majority of my family and friends who go abroad to the Middle East for construction jobs (if they're poor - this is near slave labor) or to the US or Australia for further education or opportunity (if they're more well off).

Despite the mass exodus, mainly of young men, there are those who chose to stay back, to start a small business, to employ Nepalis, to work to improve their own country. I found this love of country, sense of responsibility, and commitment to others over self deeply inspiring.

This post reminds me of the people I met. I hope for a quick return to how things were in the not so recent past and for more like you to fight the good fight. Fuerza!